Pendomer, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Pendomer, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pendomer, Somerset
Pendomer St+Roc Somerset.jpg
Pendomer St+Roc Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Houndsborough, Barwick and Coker
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Yeovil PLU
Registration District Yeovil
Records begin
Parish registers: 1729
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ilchester
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PENDOMER, a parish, in the union of Yeovil, hundred of Houndsborough, Berwick, and Coker, W. division of Somerset, 4½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Yeovil.[1]

Additional information:

Pendomer St Roc is an Ancient Parish in Somerset.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pendomer, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
PENDOMER PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1609, 1623, 1729-1812
1609, 1730-1839
1609, 1729-1812
NBI

1609-1992


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474599.

Poor Law Unions

Yeovil Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Pendomer/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 24 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 16 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 18:48.
  • This page has been accessed 613 times.