Penhurst, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Penhurst, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Penhurst, Sussex
Penhurst St Michael The Archangel EastSussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Netherfield
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Battle PLU
Registration District Battle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dallington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PENHURST, a parish, in the union of Battle, hundred of Netherfield, rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 4 miles (W. by N.) from Battle. [1]

The church of St Michael is an unrestored church originating in the 14th century which has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The comedy Actor Harry H Corbett is buried in the church yard See Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) and Harry H.Corbett

The small settlement of Penhurst is part of the civil parish of Ashburnham and Penhurst see Wikipedia

This parish should not be confused with nearby Penshurst, Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This parish was part of Battle Registration District from 1837.

Certificates may be obtained from

East Sussex County Council

The Register Office
Town Hall
Grove Road
Eastbourne
BN21 4UG

Phone: 01323 464780

Fax: 01323 431386

Email:eastbourne.registrar@eastsussex.gov.uk

Church records

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Penhurst

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464158.

Poor Law Unions

Battle Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Penhurst/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 27 September 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:30.
  • This page has been accessed 939 times.