Penkridge, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Penkridge, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Penkridge, Staffordshire
Penkridge St Michael & All Saints Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Penkridge PLU
Registration District Penkridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1575
Bishop's Transcripts: 1673
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penkridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Penkridge
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PENKRIDGE (St. Michael), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the W., but chiefly in the E., division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 6 miles (S.) from Stafford, and 128 (N. W.) from London.  Here is a place of worship for Methodists.[1]

Penkridge St Michael All Saints is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Staffordshire.

Other places in the parish include: Levedale, Longridge, Lyne-hill, Mitton, Otherton, Wolgarstoner, Pillaton, Rodbaston, Water Eaton, Whiston, Whiston and Bickford, and Penkridge with Levedale, Longridge, Lynehill, Mitton, Otherton, Penkridge, Pillaton, Rodbaston, Water Eaton, Whiston, Bickford and Wolgarston.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Penkridge parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[6]
PENKRIDGE ST MICHAEL PARISH (1572) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1572-1575, 1735-1876


FMP 1575-1876 1575-1876 1572-1901 1572-1901 1572-1876 1572-1876
FREG 1813-1837

1735-1837
1653-1729, 1813-1909
FS 1572-1740, 1804-1869
1572-1740, 1813-1876

NBI

1572-1920

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Penkridge Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Penkridge/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 545-549. Date accessed: 02 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 September 2014.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 September 2014, at 15:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,884 times.