Pennington, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Pennington, Lancashire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pennington, Lancashire
Pennington St Michael contributor Alexander P Kapp.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1613
Bishop's Transcripts: 1689
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PENNINGTON (St Michael), a parish, in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 1½ mile west by southwest of Ulverston. The church was erected in 1826. The modern parish in the Diocese of Carlisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Pennington St Michael's parish registers have to a certain extent been transcribed and made accessible online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
PENNINGTON ST MICHAEL PARISH (1612) iNDEXES 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1613-1867 1616-1866  1814-1838
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1837-1955 None 
FMP  None 1616-1837 None
FREG 1612-1702 1612-1702 1612-1702
PENNINGTON CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1854) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS None None None
LOPC None None None
LBMD None 1855-1950 None
FMP None None None

Original Records

The original Pennington St Michael's parish registers and the chapelry registers of Christ Church are housed at the Cumbria Record Office, 140 Duke Street, Barrow-in-Furness LA 14 1XW.

Copies of original parish registers and Bishop's transcripts along with other church records for Pennington St Michael's are available on microfilm at the Family History Library, Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. and its satellite FamilySearch Centers worldwide.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306916.


Poor Law Unions

Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 545-549. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 June 2014, at 15:10.
  • This page has been accessed 1,926 times.