PennsylvaniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Pennsylvania

Guide to Pennsylvania ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

News and Events
Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania events
Key Topics
Other Topics
Moderator

Welcome to Pennsylvania,
the Keystone State
Liberty Bell.jpg
Most unique genealogical features:
  • PA's earliest 1638 European settlers of New Sweden were Swedes, Finns, and Germans.
  • William Penn's proprietor records are online.
  • Some early land records of S.W. PA are in VA.
  • Most county land records have weird indexes.
  • Use church records for missing vital records.
  • Surveyors Mason and Dixon settled a boundary dispute by a 1763-1767 survey of the PA/MD border, which became known as the Mason-Dixon Line.
   How to Find Information about Pennsylvania Ancestors
 

1. Birth Information
2. Marriage Information
3. Death Information

Pennsylvania Counties

Click on the map below to go to a county page. Hover over a county to see its name. To see a larger version of the map, click here.
Erie CountyCrawford CountyMercer CountyLawrence CountyBeaver CountyWashington CountyGreene CountyWarren CountyVenango CountyButler County, PennsylvaniaAllegheny CountyFayette CountyWestmoreland CountyIndiana CountyArmstrong CountyClarion CountyForest CountyMcKean County, PennsylvaniaElk CountyJefferson CountySomerset CountyCambria CountyClearfield CountyCameronPotter CountyTioga CountyBradford CountySusquehanna CountyWayne CountyLackawanna CountyWyoming CountySullivan CountyLycoming CountyClinton CountyCentre CountyBlair CountyBedford CountyFulton CountyFranklin CountyAdams CountyYork CountyLancaster CountyChester CountyHuntingdon CountyMifflin CountyJuniata CountyPerry CountyCumberlandDauphin CountyLebanon CountySnyder CountyUnion CountyNorthumberland CountyMontour CountyColumbia CountyLuzerne CountySchuylkill CountyBerks CountyDelaware CountyPhiladelphia CountyMontgomery CountyBucks CountyLehigh CountyNorthampton CountyCarbon CountyMonroe CountyPike CountyPennsylvania-county-map.gif


Extinct or Renamed Jurisdictions:  New Netherland · New Sweden · Ontario

Major repositories

Pennsylvania Division of Vital Records · Pennsylvania State Archives · State Library of Pennsylvania · Historical Society of Pennsylvania · Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania · German Society of Pennsylvania  · Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh  · Citizens Library · Erie County Library  · Free Library of Philadelphia · Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania · Jewish Genealogical Society of Greater Philadelphia · Lancaster Mennonite Historical Society · Library Company of Philadelphia · Luzerne County Historical Society Bishop Library · Philadelphia City Archives · Temple University Urban Archives · University of Pennsylvania Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center · American Swedish Historical Museum · Evangelical and Reformed Historical Society (ERHS) · Franklin and Marshall College Library  · Haverford College Library · Lutheran Archives Center at Philadelphia · Presbyterian Historical Society  · Swarthmore College Friends Historical Library · Handley Regional Library · National Archives at Philadelphia · New York Public Library · Library of Congress · Pennsylvania Vital Records ·

Migration routes

Beaver and Erie Canal · Bethlehem Pike · Braddock's Road · Burd's Road · Canada Road · Centre Turnpike · Culbertson's Path · Cumberland Road · Delaware River · Fall Line Road  · Forbes Road · Gist's Trace · Great Indian Warpath · Great Island Path · Great Shamokin Path · Great Trail · Great Valley Road  · King's Highway · Kittanning Path · Lake Erie · Lake Shore Path · Lehigh and Lackawanna Paths · Memacolinis Path · Minsi Path · National Road  · Ohio River · Pennsylvania Road · Philadelphia Lancaster Turnpike · Philadelphia and Reading Rail Road · Philadelphia Wagon Road · Pennsylvania Railroad · Schuylkill Canal · Southern Road · Tuscarora Path · Union Canal · Venango Path


Resources

Research tools

  • FamilyHart Online Database - Currently contains over 843,000 linked names online...The largest Pennsylvania Dutch Genealogy Database ONLINE

A wiki article describing this collection is found at:

Obtain additional help


Wiki Volunteers Wanted

To add your knowledge and help expand the wiki click here:


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 December 2014, at 03:11.
  • This page has been accessed 217,265 times.