Pennsylvania CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: PA Roots and its members who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| Adopt a page today | |
|
|
Online Pennsylvania indexes and images
| Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Pennsylvania | |||||||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* | Pay | |||||||||
| Family Search[1] |
Internet Archive[2] | Misc. | Heritage Quest[3] | Fold3[4] | Ancestry FHL[5] | Ancestry Library[5] | Ancestry Home[5] | Archives[6] | Family Link[7] | ||
| 1940 | indexes | Link | - | Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | Link | - | Link Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| 1930 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1920 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1910 | indexes | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1900 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1880 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | - | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1870[8] | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1860 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1850 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1840 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1830 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1820 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1810 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1800 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1790 | indexes | Link | - | Tran- script |
Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| Family Search | Internet Archive | Misc. | Heritage Quest | Fold3 | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | Archives | Family Link | ||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) | Pay | |||||||||
Federal population schedules
Microfilm images
| 1940 N/A | 1910and Soundex | 1860 |
| 1930 FHL 2341693 | 1900 and Soundex | 1850 |
| 1920 and Soundex | 1880 and Soundex | 1800-1840 |
| 1870 | 1790 |
| 1940 N/A | 1910 T624 and Soundex T1274 | 1860 M653 | 1820 M33 | |
| 1930 T626 | 1900 T623 and Soundex T1068 | 1850 M432 | 1810 M252 | |
| 1920 T625 and Soundex M1584 | 1880 T9 and Soundex T769 | 1840 M704 | 1800 M32 | |
| 1870 M593 | 1830 M19 | 1790 M637 |
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Pennsylvania, click here
Federal non-population schedules
Online indexes and images
| Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Pennsylvania | ||||||||||
| |
Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) | Pay | |||||||
| Year | Type | Record Search | Census Bureau | Google Book | PA Historical & Museum Commission | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | ||
| 1927 | Agricultural | - | - | - | Link | - | - | - | ||
| 1890 | Veterans | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1880 | Agricultural | - | - | - | Link | - | - | - | ||
| 1880 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1870 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1860 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1850 | Agricultural | - | - | - | Link | - | - | - | ||
| 1850 | Mortality | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1840 | Pensioners | - | BookLink | BookLink | - | Link | Link | Link | ||
Microfilm images
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Pennsylvania, click here.
State and colonial censuses
Pennylvania never took a state census. Records indicated as state censuses are in reality reconstructed tax lists.
- 1857 Chester County only: a list of taxable inhabitants by Township.[9][10]
- 1783/4 Swedish Lutheran Church in Pennsylvania[11]
- 1753 Swedish Lutheran Church in Pennsylvania[11]
- 1743 Swedish Lutheran Church in Pennsylvania[11]
- 1697/8 Swedish Lutheran Church in Pennsylvania[11]
- 1693 Swedish Lutheran Church in Pennsylvania[11]
- 1671 Philadelphia and Delaware counties in Pennsylvania; New Castle County, Delaware, and Burlington County, New Jersey.[12]
Existing and lost censuses
For a list of available and missing Pennsylvania censuses, click here.
Why use a census?
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
Sources and footnotes
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
- ↑ Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- ↑ FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- ↑ Philadelphia was enumerated twice in 1870. If an ancestor lived in Philadelphia, compare both enumerations.
- ↑ Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992), no Pennsylvania listing.
- ↑ Henry J. Dubester, State Censuses: An Annotated Bibliography of Censuses of Population Taken After the Year 1790 by States and Territories of the United States (Washington, D.C.: U.S. Government Printing Office, 1948), 54.
- ↑ 11.0 11.1 11.2 11.3 11.4 Klepp discusses the existence of these records in Susan Klepp, "Five Early Pennsylvania Censuses," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 106, No. 4 (Oct. 1982):483-484. For free online access, see WeRelate.
- ↑ Peter Stebbins Craig, 1671 Census of the Delaware (Philadelphia, Pa.: Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, 1999)[FHL Book 974 X2c 1671].
| ||||
| ||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 September 2012, at 14:44.
- This page has been accessed 18,913 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More