Pennsylvania Ethnic, Political, or Religious GroupsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pennsylvania Minorities)

United States Gotoarrow.png Pennsylvania Gotoarrow.png Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

For a brief discussion of the many ethnic, political, or religious groups who immigrated to Pennsylvania, see the "Emigration and Immigration" article.

Adopt-a-wiki page
Pa-rootsbuttonwiki.gif This page adopted by:
PA Roots and its members
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents


Acadians in Pennsylvania

For a history of Acadians from Nova Scotia who came to Pennsylvania in 1755, see Simone Vincens, Les Indomptes FHL book 974.8 F2v. This includes information for about 400 individuals. The text is in French.

African Americans

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/African American_Online_Genealogy_Records African American
Online Records
An important history is Edward Raymond Turner, The Negro in Pennsylvania: Slavery-Servitude-Freedom, 1639-1861 (New York, NY: Negro Universities Press, 1969; FHL book 974.8 F2t. It includes an extensive bibliography.

See also:

Charles L. Blockson, African Americans in Pennsylvania: A History and Guide(Baltimore, Maryland.: A DuForcel book published by Black Classic Press, 1994); FHL book 974.8 F2bL.

Blockson, Charles L. African Americans in Pennsylvania: Above ground and underground, an illustrated guide. Harrisburg, Pennsylvania : RB Books; Seitz and Seitz, Inc., c 2001 FHL 974.8F2bl 2001

Blockson, Charles L.ed. by Louise D. Stone. Pennsylvania's Black History. Philadelphia: portfolio Associates, 1975. E185.93.P41 B56

A brief but helpful reference to sources at the State Archives is David McBride, The Afro-American in Pennsylvania: A Critical Guide to Sources in the Pennsylvania State Archives (Harrisburg, PA.: Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission, 1979); FHL book 974.8 A1, no. 199.

A potential source for information about individuals is Pennsylvania Abolition Society (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania), Manumissions and Indentures, ca. 1780-1840, Arranged by Name of Master or Slaveholder FHL films 1731983 (first of 7 films). Records are from various eastern states, including New Jersey, Maryland, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Georgia, and Virginia.

Freedman's Savings and Trust Company signature cards or registers may list a person's former masters, birth date, birthplace, occupation, residences, death information, parents, children, spouses, or siblings. Pennsylvania had one branch of this bank at Philadelphia from 1870 to 1874.

The signature registers for this branch are listed as Freedman's Savings and Trust Company (Washington, D.C.), 1865-1874, Registers of Signatures of Depositors in Branches of the Freedman's Savings and Trust Company, 1865-1874 (Washington, D.C.: National Archives, 1969; FHL film 928571 (first of 20 films). Depositors are in order by account number.

The separate Freedman's Bureau records do not normally name relatives or give genealogical information. They can be found in the Subject Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under FREEDMEN - PENNSYLVANIA.

Pennsylvania began the gradual emancipation of slaves in 1780. Slaves are sometimes mentioned in deeds, in wills, in tax records, and in court order books. A few parish registers (Pennsylvania Church Records) list slaves who attended church with their masters.

At the taking of the 1790 Census, ironmasters were the largest slave owners in Pennsylvania counties where charcoal and iron were produced: Berks, Chester, Montgomery, Lancaster, Dauphin and York.[1]

The "septennial" census (see Pennsylvania Census), beginning in 1800, often listed the name, age, and sex of slaves and the names of slave owners.

American Indians

See Indians of Pennsylvania.

Germans in Pennsylvania

Meyen, Emil. Bibliography on the Colonial Germans of North America: Especially the Pennsylvania Germans and their Descendants. Reprint. Baltimore, Maryland.: Genealogical Publishing, 1982. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 970 F23me.

A good history is William T. Parsons, Pennsylvania Dutch: A Persistent Minority (Boston: Twayne Publishers, 1976). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.8 F6p. It has an excellent bibliography of Pennsylvania German sources.

A history of events before 1782 is H. Frank Eshleman, Historic Background and Annals of the Swiss and German Pioneer Settlers of Southeastern Pennsylvania and of their Remote Ancestors from the Middle of the Dark Ages, Down to the Time of the Revolutionary War: With Particular Reference to the German-Swiss Mennonites or Anabaptists, the Amish and Other Non-resistant Sects (1917, reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1969). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Film 928291 item 8; and FHL book 974.81 F2se. It is organized chronologically by year.

A good history of modern times is Homer Tope Rosenberger, Pennsylvania Germans, 1891-1965 Frequently known as the "Pennsylvania Dutch"(1917 reprint, Lancaster, PA.: Pennsylvania German Society, 1966). At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974.8 B4pg. It includes a brief account of events before 1891. It also has a description of "Outstanding Collections of Pennsylvania German Material" on pages 508-62.

A helpful genealogy of a small group of Pennsylvania Germans called "Schwenkfelders" is Samuel Kriebel Brecht, The Genealogical Record of the Schwenkfelder Families: Seekers of Religious Liberty Who Fled from Silesia to Saxony and Thence to Pennsylvania in the Years 1731 to 1737 (New York, NY: Rand McNally, 1923). Vol 1 online; Vol 2 online; At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL film 1266718 and FHL book 974.8 F2b. This book is a revision of a work done in 1879.

A helpful index is Card index to Pennsylvania Germans in the magazines : Proceedings and addresses (Pennsylvania German Society); Pennsylvania Dutchman; PGFS or Pennsylvania German Folklore Society; Penn-Germania; The Pennsylvania-German; Historical review of Berks County; Reprint, the Morning call; some copied Bible records, 1713-1951, and news clippings (Microfilm of the original records is available at Franklin and Marshall College, Lancaster, Pennsylvania, 1978). FHL Film 1204985 (first of 38 films).

Huguenots in Pennsylvania

Stapleton, Ammon. Memorials of the Huguenots in America, With Special Reference to Their Emigration [sic] to Pennsylvania. 1901; Reprint: Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1969. FHL film 1321463 item 16.

Scots-Irish in Pennsylvania

Dunaway, Wayland Fuller. The Scotch-Irish of Colonial Pennsylvania. FHL book 974.8 F2dw and FHL fiche 6046742 It includes a helpful bibliography.

Welsh in Pennsylvania

Browing, Charles Henry. Welsh Settlement of Pennsylvania. Microreproduction of original published: Philadelphia, PA.: William J. Campbell, 1912. FHL film 528765

Glenn, Thomas Allen. Merion in the Welsh Tract: With Sketches of the Townships of Haverford and Radnor, Historical and Genealogical Collections Concerning the Welsh Barony in the Province of Pennsylvania, Settled by the Cymric Quaker in 1682. Norristown, PA.: Herald Press, 1896. FHL book 974.81 D2g and FHL film 833377.

Glenn, Thomas Allen. Welsh Founders of Pennsylvania. 2 vols. Oxford: Fox, Jones and Co., 1911-1913. FHL book 974.8 F2g and FHL film 496948 items 1-2.

References

  1. Joseph E. Walker, "Negro Labor in Charcoal Iron Industry of Southeastern Pennsylvania," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 93, No. 4 (Oct. 1969):467. For free online access, see WeRelate.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:25.
  • This page has been accessed 3,615 times.