Penponds, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes


Guide to Penponds, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Penponds, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Redruth PLU
Registration District Redruth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1857
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PENPONDS, an ecclesiastical district, in the parish of Camborne, union of Redruth, E. division of the hundred of Penwith, W. division of Cornwall, 1 mile (S. W.) from the town of Camborne. There are two places of worship for Methodists, and one for Bible Christians. [1]



Penponds, (Cornish: Pennpons) Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Cornwall, created in 1847 from Camborne, Cornwall Ancient Parish. It includes Kehelland, Barripper and Ramsgate.

As a small inscription on the wall, close to the pulpit of the Church, states, "The ecclesiastical district of Penponds was formed out of the parish of Camborne by an Order in Council at the Court at Windsor, December 19th 1846. This Church of the Holy Trinity was consecrated by Henry, Lord Bishop of Exeter, on the 15th day of May 1854." So begins the history of Penponds Parish Church, one of the most beautiful Churches in Cornwall, and yet relatively young in years. The rather plain exterior betrays little of the richness that lies within for here is one of the finest early twentieth century Church interiors in this Country; as Sir John Betjeman has said, "a complete period piece of the high Church good taste".

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Penponds, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
Penponds, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC
1854-1913

FMP 1854-1860

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Images of parish registers are available online in historic records (formerly Record Search) Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 176

Non Conformist Churches

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/n_p/penponds.php



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241263.


Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Redruth Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 549-555. Date accessed: 13 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/penponds-holy-trinity/ for information about the parish

http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51209#s1 British History Online

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 May 2014, at 21:44.
  • This page has been accessed 861 times.