Pensnett, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Pensnett, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pensnett, Staffordshire
Pensnett St Mark Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge PLU
Registration District Stourbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Pensnett St Mark is an Ecclesiastical parish formed in 1844 from Kingswinford, Staffordshire.

PENSNETT, an ecclesiastical parish,  in the parish of King's-Swinford,  union of Stourbridge, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 2 miles (W. S. W.) from Dudley, on the road to King's-Swinford. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans, and one for the New Connexion of Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Pensnett St Mark parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]   FREG - Search under Staffordshire, Kingswinford
PENSNETT ST MARK (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1844-1902


1849-1905

Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1834-1936 Marr 1850-1956 Bur 1849-1854

Non-Conformist Churches

Church Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel (Pensnett). This Chapel has 3 Registers - Wesleyan Methodist Register 1849-1949, Methodist Church 1940-1956 & Methodist Church (Old Church St. Society) 1949-1965. All the entries are under Church St. Wesleyan Methodist Chapel.

  CHURCH STREET WESLEYAN METHODIST CHAPEL PENSNETT (1849) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1849-1965






Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474624.

Poor Law Unions

Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 549-555. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,489 times.