Pepin County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Pepin County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Pepin County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Pepin County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded Feburary 25, 1858
County Seat Durand
Courthouse
Address Pepin County Courthouse

740 7th Ave West
Dunrand, WI 54736-1628
Phone: 715.672.8857
Pepin County Courthouse
WI Pepin.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Pepin County Courthouse
740 7th Ave West
Dunrand, WI 54736-1628
Phone: 715.672.8857

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Register in
Probate has probate records[1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1858--Pepin County was created 25 February 1858 from Dunn County.  County seat: Durand [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Pepin County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Pepin County.

- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company L

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

A wiki article describing an online colldecion is found at:

Wisconsin Probate Recrods (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Pepin, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:34.
  • This page has been accessed 4,463 times.