Perivale, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes

Perivale, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Perivale, Middlesex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Elthorne
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union Brentford PLU
Registration District Brentford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1707
Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Middlesex
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Perrivale, a parish, in the union of Brentford, hundred of Elthorne, county of Middlesex, 3¼ miles south by east of the town of Harrow. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Perivale Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1707
1707
1707
Images
1707-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1892 Ancestry[3] 1831-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1969 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1708-1855 BritishOrigins[6] 1630-1837 FindMyPast[7]
1707-1875 FamilySearch[8] 1631, 1639
1720-1837
BritishOrigins[9]
1720-1844 FamilySearch[10]


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census and Inhabitants Lists

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438774.

1666 Hearth Tax
Hearth Tax
  • Allison, K.J. Ealing in the XVIIth Century: Hearth Tax Assessments for Ealing, Greenford, Hanwell, Northolt and Perivale. London: Ealing Local History Society, 1963. FHL Book 942.1 B4e no. 4.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 February 2014.
  2. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as St Mary the Virgin, Perivale in Ealing Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Perivale in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Perivale in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Perivale in Ealing Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. 'About Middlesex Baptisms Index 1538-1751,' British Origins, accessed 16 March 2012.
  7. 'West Middlesex Marriage Index Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 8 March 2012.
  8. Batches C042491-C042492, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
  9. 'Webb's London Marriages - Marriages, periods and parishes/churches,' British Origins, accessed 12 March 2012.
  10. Batches M042491-M042492, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (N-Z), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 24 June 2014, at 22:37.
  • This page has been accessed 2,812 times.