Perlethorpe, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Perlethorpe, Nottinghamshire
Perlethorpe St John Nottinghamshire.jpg
Perlethorpe St John Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1528
Bishop's Transcripts: 1621
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

PERLETHORPE, a chapelry, in the parish of Edwinstowe, union of Southwell, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 2¼ miles (N. by W.) from Ollerton.[1]

Additional information:

Perlethorpe St John the Evangelist was formed as an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1836 from chapelry in Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire Ancient parish and is in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire. The civil parish is Perlethorpe-cum-Budby

A history of the church has been researched by the Southwell and Nottingham Church History project Perlethorpe

The Parish Church of St John has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Perlethorpe Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Perlethorpe St John the Evangelist parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
PERLETHORPE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1555-1900 Marriages 1555-1981 Burials 1555-1901 Bishop’s Transcripts 1621-1866

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Perlethorpe

Perlethorpe, St. John.  Transcription of Memorial Inscriptions inside and outside the Church, dating from 1831, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol.63, pages 21-23, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438901.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Perlethorpe in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Perlethorpe/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England,(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 02:35.
  • This page has been accessed 964 times.