Perry County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Perry County
The South Fourche LaFave River, Ouachita Mountains, Perry CO., Arkansas

Guide to Perry County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County QuickStart:



Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records
Perry County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Perry County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1840
County Seat Perryville
Courthouse
Address Perry County Courthouse
PO Box 358;
Perryville, AR 72126-0358
Phone: 501.889.5126


Contents

County Courthouse

Perry County Courthouse
PO Box 358;
Perryville, AR 72126-0358
Phone: 501.889.5126

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1882.[1]

Beginning years for Perry County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1882 1914* 1882 1882 1882
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1840--Perry County was created 18 December 1840 from Conway County. County seat: Perryville [3]

Boundary Changes

See an interactive map of Perry County boundary changes.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Conway  • Faulkner  • Garland  • Pulaski  • Saline  • Yell  •

Perry CountyPope CountyConway CountyFaulkner CountyLogan CountyYell CountyPulaski CountyMontgomery CountySaline CountyGarland CountyHot Spring CountyGrant CountJefferson CountyJohnson CountyARPerry.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Online Perry County, Arkansas cemeteries from state and national resources
Search for names of people
(County-wide)
Get a list of cemeteries
(Most click to names of people)
Find published records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, change the name, then "Search"
  • Billion Graves Change the name, then "Search" (Statewide, many counties nil)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Perry County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Despite its central location in the state of Arkansas, the mountains and watercourses made early settlement difficult.
  • 1808 - Aaron Price, the first recorded white settler in the area, is purported to have settled on the Fourche La Fave River eight to nine miles downstream from present-day Perryville
  • 1840 December 18 - Perry County was created from Pulaski, Conway, Hot Spring, and Yell counties.
  • 1879 March 3 - Perry County petitioned Congress in 1875 for an appropriation to improve navigation on the Fourche La Fave River. The act was approved on March 3, 1879
  • 1879 - German Catholic families settled in east Perry County, naming their community New Dixie.
  • 1912 - African American families settled in the Toad Suck community, also known as Redemption
  • 1912-1914 - Several Lithuanian families immigrated to the United States from 1904 to 1910 because of the Russo-Japanese War and settled near Bigelow.
  • 1915 - A group of Italian immigrants arrived in the east end of the county, bringing their wine-making skills to a region of Perry County that resembled Italy.
  • 1930s - The Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) employed local citizens for their many county work projects. This encouraged people to stay in the area.
  • 1930s (late)-1940s (early) - Migration to California to find work was so extensive that the region around Fresno and Dinub in California became known as “Little Perry County.”

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Perry County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Perry County, Arkansas:

- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate), Company B
- 10th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate),
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company F
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[4], Companies B and C

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.

  • Probate Records 1882-1955 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Administration bonds 1882-1905; Appraisements 1882-1910;

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes


Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Perry County, Arkansas
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Perry County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Perry County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Perry County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Perry County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 19:13.
  • This page has been accessed 9,816 times.