Perry County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Perry County

Guide to Perry County Indiana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Perry County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 7, 1814
County Seat Tell City
Courthouse
Address Perry County Courthouse
2219 Payne Street
Tell City, IN 47586
Phone: 812.547.3741
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1814*
1882*
1815
1813
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed 7 September 1814 from Warrick and Gibson Counties.[1]
  • County Seat: Tell City [2]


Neighboring Counties

Crawford  • Dubois  • Spencer  • Hancock  • Breckinridge  • Meade

Ohio CountyOrange CountyHardin CountyHancock CountyJefferson CountyDaviess CountyCrawford CountyHarrison CountyFloyd CountyMeade CountyBreckinridge CountyBullitt CountyPerry CountyHenderson CountySpencer CountyPike CountyDubois CountyWarrick CountyINPerry.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Perry County, Indiana Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

  • All of the family biographies from the 1885 History of Perry County, Indiana by Goodspeed are available free online on My Genealogy Hound

Business Records

Cemeteries

Census Records

For tips on accessing Perry County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.

For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.

Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

Local Histories
  • History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present; together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. (1973. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.) FHL US/CAN Film 934922 Item 4 FHL Collectionother librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Maps

Migration

Military Records

War of 1812
Civil War

Civil War service men from Pike County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pike County.

Civil War Books
  • "Military History" Chapter 7 in History of Warrick, Spencer and Perry Counties, Indiana, from the earliest time to the present; together with interesting biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. (1973. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic.)(page 685-710),FHL US/CAN Film 934922 Item 4 FHL Collectionother librariesINTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

The Tell City, Perry County Public Library has the Obituaries available and searchable on line.You will need to click on search and enter your name or the criteria you want to search by in the form.

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

School Records

= Voter Registration

Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

Perry County Courthouse
2219 Payne Street
Tell City, IN 47586
Phone: 812.547.3741

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1813.
County Recorder has land records from 1813.
County Health Department has birth and death records from 1890. [3]

Archives
Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

The main FamilySearch Center for Perry County, Indiana is the

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries

Tell City-Perry County Public Library, 2328 Tell Street, Tell City, IN

Has large collection, including online obituaries since December, 1999 www.tcpclibrary.org

Cannelton Public Library

Has some items related to Cannelton, including High School yearbooks.

Museums
Societies

Taxation

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Perry County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Perry County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Birth records
Marriage Records
Death Records
  • Indiana State Digital Achives for Death, E-Publication, Instiution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)

Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Perry County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Perry County, Indiana Web Sites

Populated Places

Perry County, Indiana Genealogical References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Perry County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perry County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:23.
  • This page has been accessed 7,787 times.