Pershing County, NevadaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Nevada Gotoarrow.png Pershing County

Guide to Pershing County Nevada ancestry, family history, and genealogy, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Nevada
Online Records


Pershing County, Nevada
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nevada
Location of Nevada in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 18, 1919
County Seat Lovelock
Courthouse
Address 400 Main St
PO Box 820
Lovelock, NV 89419-0820
Phone: 775.273.2208
Pershing County Website


Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
Court
1919*
1919*
1919*
1919
1919
1919
* For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Nevada Church Records.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Lovelock

Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Pershing County, Nevada. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nevada Local Histories.

Land and Property

The county recorder's office keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.

In the FamilySearch Catalog, land records for Nevada are listed in the Place Search under: NEVADA, Pershing – LAND AND PROPERTY

Maps

Nvpershing.jpg







Migration =

Early migration routes to and from Pershing County, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:[2]

Military

Newspapers

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870 that may include residents of Pershing County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pershing County, Nevada newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Nevada Probate Records for additional information.

Public Records

Repositories

Courthouse

Pershing County Courthouse
400 Main St; PO Box 820
Lovelock, NV 89419-0820
Phone: 775.273.2208

County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1919. [4]

Family History Centers


Libraries
Museums
Societies

Taxation

Nevada tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records. Most tax records can be obtained from the county treasurer or assessor. For more information, see the wiki page Nevada Taxation. The Family History Library does not have copies of Nevada tax records (as of June 2013).

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.

A copy or an extract of most Nevada original records can be purchased from the Nevada State Health Division or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Nevada Vital Records. For information about restrictions and costs for certificates, see the CDC Where to Write for Vital Records site.

Birth
Marriage
Death

Websites

Places

Arabia Granite Point Kodak Mill City Perth Rye Patch Tungsten
Colado Humboldt Kyle Hot Springs Nightingale Placerites Scossa Twain
Cosgrave Humboldt City Lovelock Oreana Poker Brown Toulon Unionville
Fitting Imlay Lower Rochester Panama Rochester Trego Woolsey

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pershing County, Oregon page 443, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 17:41.
  • This page has been accessed 4,541 times.