Person County, North CarolinaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  North Carolina  Gotoarrow.png  Person County

Guide to Person County, North Carolina ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/North Carolina_Online_Genealogy_Records North Carolina
Online Records


Person County, North Carolina
Map
Map of North Carolina highlighting Person County
Location in the state of North Carolina
Map of the U.S. highlighting North Carolina
Location of North Carolina in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1791
County Seat Roxboro
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Logonew small.gif This page adopted by:
NCGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Person Co. NCGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Person County Courthouse
105 South Main St
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone 336-503-5200

History

Person was formed in 1791 from Caswell. The act was to become effective February 1, 1792. In 1792 the eastern four districts of Caswell County became Person County. It was named in honor of General Thomas Person, a Revolutionary Patriot, a member of the Council of Safety and a trustee of the University of North Carolina. He gave a large sum of money to the University, and a building was erected in his honor, which is called Person Hall. It is in the north central section of the State and is bounded by Granville, Durham, Orange and Caswell counties, and the State of Virginia. The present area is 390.87 square miles and the 1990 population was 30,180. In 1792 Pittman's was mentioned in an act as the place where the courthouse was to be established. In 1793 Roxboro was established as the courthouse and is now the county seat.

Parent County

1791--Person County was created from Caswell County.
County seat: Roxboro [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in North Carolina counties see: North Carolina Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Ncperson.png

Cemeteries

Following sites have various listings of Person County Cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Person County, North Carolina census records online, see: North Carolina Census.

Church Records

Baptist
  • Flat River. Constituted 1777.[2]
  • Head of Mayo Creek. Constituted 1793.[2]
  • South Hico River Lower Church. Constituted 1793.[2]
  • South Hico River Upper Church. Constituted 1792.[2]

Court

Person County Clerk of Court's Office
Person County Courthouse
105 South Main St
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone 336-503-5200

Ethnic and Religous Groups

Redford, Dorothy Spruill. As Long as You Call My Name, I Live: Somerset Place Slave Burial Register, 1785-1865.FHL 975.6165 V3r

Redford, Dorothy Spruill and Michael D'orso. Somerset Homecoming: Recovering a Lost Heritage. New York, New York : Doubleday, c 1988. FHL 929.273 L732r

Redford, Dorothy Spruill. Somerset's Slave Community: an Antebellum Genealogical Study. [Portsmouth, Va.] D. S. Redford, 9C. 1986)


Land

Person County Register of Deeds Office
P. O. Box 209
21 Abbitt Street
Roxboro, NC 27573
Phone 336-597-1733

Website also includes online searchable database for deeds.

Register's office has copies of birth, marriage & death records as well as land records.

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Civil War Confederate units - Brief history, counties where recruited, etc.

U.S. Colored Troops-Person County - list of soldiers from Person Co.

- 4th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain George F Fisher's Company
:- 7th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain R S Davie's Company

Newspapers

Probate

Taxation

Some Person County Tax Lists are available in transcribed records online. Following are links to them:

Vital Records

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Libraries


Societies

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 2:567. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:42.
  • This page has been accessed 8,967 times.