Petersfield, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png HampshireGotoarrow.png Hampshire ParishesGotoarrow.png Petersfield

Guide to Petersfield, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Petersfield, Hampshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Finch-Dean
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Petersfield PLU
Registration District Petersfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Buriton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1700
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Petersfield
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PETERSFIELD (St. Peter), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Finch-Dean, Petersfield and N. divisions of the county of Southampton with the tything of Sheet. Besides the church, is a place of worship for Independents.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Petersfield parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
PETERSFIELD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG 1784-1814
1734-1837

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288799.

Genealogy from Periodicals

Hurst, N.H.G. The Main Line  Article covers the family of William Main, and Mr. Hurst starts with William's brother Reuben, who was Master of the tug "Grinder" at the time of the fatal accident.  It continues with details of the family, from 1863, when Reuben Main marries Suzanne Miller, and their children's details are given. Article covers years from1762-1957. The article is found in The Hampshire Family Historian, Vol. VIII,no.2. August. 1981 pages 69-70

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 558-564. Date accessed: 08 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013. Date ranges are not clearly identified.
  3. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 2 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,645 times.