Petham with Waltham, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Petham with Waltham, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Petham with Waltham, Kent
Petham All Saints Kent.jpg
Petham All Saints Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bridge and Petham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Waltham beginning 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564; Separate records exist for Waltham beginning 1567
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Petham is a village and civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Petham Wikipedia see also Waltham Kent Wikipedia

Petham with Waltham was formed as an Ecclesiastical parish in 1698 from the amalgamation of Petham Ancient parish and Waltham Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you. See also Wye benefice website

The church of All Saints is mediaeval 13th century but suffered seroius fire damage in 1922 and had to be restored.The Church of All Saints, Church Lane, Petham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 310-319. Date accessed:12 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Petham All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Petham All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1911 1559-1911 1559-1923 1559-1923 1559-1883 1559-1883

Waltham St Bartholomew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Waltham St Bartholomew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1812 1538-1812 1538-1922 1538-1922 1538-1892 1538-1892

Land Tax

Images for Petham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863.


[1]

Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

PETHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Bridge and Petham, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 6 miles (S. S. W.) from Canterbury. [4]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 19:32.
  • This page has been accessed 1,983 times.