Petrockstowe, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Petrockstowe, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Torrington PLU|
|Parish registers: 1597|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
PETROCKSTOW, a parish, in the union of Torrington, hundred of Shebbear, Black Torrington and Shebbear, and N. divisions of the county of Devon, 4 miles (N. N. W.) from Hatherleigh. It comprises 3026 acres, of which 1080 are common or waste land.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241320.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Petrockstowe on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 15:36.
- This page has been accessed 1,172 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News