Pett, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes


Guide to Pett, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pett, Sussex
Pett St Mary & St Peter East Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Guestling
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Hastings PLU
Registration District Hastings
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PETT (St. Mary and St. Peter), a parish, in the hundred of Guestling, union and rape of Hastings, E. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (E. N. E.) from Hastings. The parish is bounded on the south-east by the English Channel. The church is a neat edifice; the chancel contains several monuments to the Wynch family. In many parts of Pett Level, trees have been dug up in a sound state, supposed to have lain there since October 1250, when the sea overwhelmed and destroyed a large tract of land.[1]

history and images

Pett Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)other places of worship include

Mount Calvary Bible Christian Chapel Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
St Nicholas, Pett Level Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) This tiny building was erected by the Admiralty at this coastal location as a Lifesaving Rocket Apparatus Station-a safety device intended to rescue shipwrecked sailors. It was bought by the Diocese of Chichester and opened as a church on 26 April 1935.

See A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. here

Pett Methodist Church dates from 1848 and has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building

See also list of places of worship in Rother Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pett, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Pett, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI

1606-1904

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Pett

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464157.

Poor Law Unions

Hastings Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Pett/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,533 times.