Pettis County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Pettis County

Guide to Pettis County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Pettis County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1833
County Seat Sedalia
Courthouse
Address Pettis County Courthouse
415 S Ohio Avenue
Sedalia, MO 65301; Phone 660.826.5395
Pettis County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



Recorder Deeds has marriage and land records from 1833;
Probate Court has probate records from 1833; Clerk Circuit
has court records[1]

History

Parent County

1833--Pettis County was created 26 January 1833 from Cooper and Saline Counties. County seat: Sedalia [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Benton  • Cooper  • Henry  • Johnson  • Lafayette  • Morgan  • Saline

Pettis CountyMorgan CountyCooper CountyLafayette CountyRay CountyChariton CountyHoward CountyCarroll CountySaline CountyHenry CountySt. Clair CountyBenton CountyMoniteau CountyJohnson CountyCamden CountyMOPettis.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

St. John's, Bahner

  • 1846-1876 - St. John's, Bahner, Baptism Index 1846-1876. Batch C511881 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1851-1885 - St. John's, Bahner, Marriage Index 1851-1885. Batch M511881 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • St. Louis
  • St. Louis N.
  • St. Louis S.
  • Sedalia

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pettis County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mopettis.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B:- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
:- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 5th Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company A
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company B
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company C
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company E
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company F
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (Union), Company H
:- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 40th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company C


Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pettis County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1865-1874 - Pettis County Birth Index 1865-1874. Batch C515581 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1865-1884 - Pettis County Marriage Index 1865-1884. Batch M515581 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1884-1885 - Pettis County Marriage Index 1884-1885. Batch M515582 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • Pettis County, Missouri, Marriages, performed in 1891, listed in the Sedalia Weekly Bazoo Newspaper.
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Family History Centers




Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free data submitted by individuals
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Pettis County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Pettis County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Pettis County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Pettis County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Pettis County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Pettis County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pettis County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 July 2014, at 15:22.
  • This page has been accessed 7,397 times.