Petton, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.pngDevon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Petton, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Petton, Devon
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bampton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Tiverton PLU
Registration District Tiverton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1701; For more records see Bampton
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Tiverton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PETTON, a hamlet in Bampton parish, Devon; near Bampton.[1]

BAMPTON, a small town, a parish, a subdistrict, and a hundred, in Devon. The town stands in a vale, on the rivulet Batherne, about a mile above its influx to the Exe, 7 miles N of Tiverton r. station. It has a post office under Tiverton. The parish includes also the hamlets of Petton and Shillingford. A small chapel of ease is at Petton; and a small Baptist chapel in the town.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Petton, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Petton, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1701-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241302.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, [http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/descriptions/entry_page.jsp?text_id=962520 Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  2. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 May 2014, at 20:36.
  • This page has been accessed 972 times.