Petworth, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Petworth, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Petworth, Sussex
Petworth St Mary Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rotherbridge
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Petworth PLU
Registration District Petworth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Midhurst
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PETWORTH (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 14 miles (N. E. by N.) from Chichester, and 49 (S. W. by S.) from London. The church, erected about the time of Henry VII., was nearly rebuilt under the direction of C. Barry, Esq. It now consists of a nave, chancel, and north and south aisles, with an ancient chapel dedicated to St. Thomas at the east end of the north aisle, in which some members of the family of Percy, earls of Northumberland, are buried. The tower surmounted by a beautiful spire 180 feet high, is at the east end of the south aisle. The interior of the church is exceedingly neat: the windows of the chancel of St. Thomas's chapel, and the south aisle, are of stained glass; and there is a splendid organ. Here are places of worship for Independents and Calvinists.[1]

history and images

Petworth Sussex online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also:

Petworth Wikipedia and A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. here

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See alsoPetworth Registration District For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Petworth, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
Petworth, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1559-1876 1559-1876
PRTS 1559-1900
1559-1900
1559-1902
SOPC Undefined


Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Petworth

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.

Court Records

Burchall, Michael J.  Sussex Bastardy Register 1835-1839.  An abstract of a volume of Quarter Session Records giving name, parish, occupation of father, sex of child, date of birth, remarks.  Article in the magazine Sussex Family Historian, vol.1. #4, March 1974, pages 97-101, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 B2su

Genealogy from Periodicals

Clarke, Midge. Am I Descended From Milton. Facsimilie of John Milton 1608-1674, photo of Manning Milton and family at Petworth, Sussex 1902, and one of Milton children, history and family tree, also the Pubs and cottages where they worked and lived. Article in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 30 part 1, pages 33-36, FHL Ref 942.27 B2h

Poor Law Unions

Petworth Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Petworth/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
  4. Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 September 2014, at 20:59.
  • This page has been accessed 1,751 times.