Phelps County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Phelps County

Guide to Phelps County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Phelps County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 13, 1857
County Seat Rolla
Courthouse
Address Phelps County Courthouse
200 N Main Street FL 1;
Rolla, MO 65401
Phone: 573.364.1891
Phelps County Website

Contents

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage, divorce, court and
land records from 1857 and probate records[1]

History

Parent County

1857--Phelps County was created 13 November 1857 from Crawford, Pulaski and Maries Counties. County seat: Rolla [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Crawford  • Dent  • Gasconade  • Maries  • Pulaski  • Texas

Phelps CountyCrawford CountyIron CountyDent CountyShannon CountyReynolds CountyLaclede CountyTexas CountyCole CountyMiller CountyCamden CountyFranklin CountyGasconade CountyMaries CountyOsage CountyWright CountyPulaski CountyMOPhelps.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Phelps County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

Maps

Mophelps.jpg

Military

  • There is an index for the State Federal Soldiers' Home in St. James, Mo. in Marie Concannon's Index of residents State Federal Soldiers' Home of Missouri, St. James, Missouri, 1899-1946 (FamilySearch) (Worldcat). The home was provided for indigent Union veterans of the Civil War, their wives, widows, and army nurses.
Civil War
- 16th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
:- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company B
:- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
:- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
:- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
:- 24th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
:- 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company F
:- 32nd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
:- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company A
:- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company G
:- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company L
:- 7th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
:- 63rd Regiment, Enrolled Militia, Missouri Infantry (60 days 1864) (Union), Company H
:- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
:- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
:- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company D
:- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I
:- 14th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company A
:- 14th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
:- 14th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company B
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company G
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I
:- 6th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
:- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Phelps County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1857-1867 - Phelps County Birth Index 1857-1867. Batch C515591 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1883-1890 - Phelps County Birth Index, Volume 1, 1883-1890. Batches C582499 and C582671 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths
  • Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
  • 1883-1890 - Phelps County Death Index, Volume 1, 1883-1890. Batch B514584 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Phelps County Genealogical Society

Phelps County Genealogical Society
PO Box 571
Rolla, MO 65402
Phone: (573) 364-9597
E-mail: pcgs@rollanet.org
Website: http://pcgsrolla.weebly.com/

Phelps County Historical Society

Phelps County Historical Society
305 W 3rd Street.
P.O. Box 1861
Rolla, Missouri 65402
Phone: (573) 364-5977
The Historical Society has a Facebook page.

Family History Centers



Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Phelps County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Phelps County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Phelps County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Phelps County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search (including one on Phelps County)
genealogy.com Phelps County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Phelps County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Phelps County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 July 2014, at 02:52.
  • This page has been accessed 7,231 times.