Philleigh, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Philleigh, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Philleigh, Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Powder
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Truro PLU
Registration District Truro
Records begin
Parish registers: 1733
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Powder
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PHILLEIGH or Filley (St. Felix), a parish, in the union of Truro, W. division of the hundred of Powder and of the county of Cornwall, 6 miles (S. W.) from Tregoney. There are places of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Philleigh, St Philleigh (Fili or Filius) is an Ancient Parish in Cornwall

The Manor of Eglosrose is mentioned in the Domesday Book and the remainder of the parish was in the Episcopal Manor of Tregear. The parish church is dedicated to St Fili or Filius. The remains of the mansion of the Arundells are at Talverne: associated with it were two medieval chapels, mentioned in 1384.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Philleigh, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[9]
Philleigh, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1597-1673

COPC 1613-1913
1613-1913
1613-1938
FMP 1613-1874 1668-1837 1691-1837
FS PRs 1837-1903
IGI 1612-1875 1613-1673, 1755-1875
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 187

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Philleigh .

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241270.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Truro Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Philleigh in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 564-567. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  9. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,162 times.