Pickens County, Georgia GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pickens County, Georgia)

United States go to Georgia go to Pickens County

Guide to Pickens County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


Pickens County, Georgia
Map of Georgia highlighting Pickens County
Location in the state of Georgia
Founded December 5, 1853
County Seat Jasper
Address Pickens County Courthouse
52 North Main Street
Jasper, GA 30143
Phone: 706.692.2014
Pickens County Website


County Courthouse

Pickens County Courthouse
52 North Main Street
Jasper, GA 30143
Phone: 706.692.2014

Probate Court has birth, marriage, death, burial, and probate records; Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1854.[1]

Clerk of Superior Court
50 North Main St.
Suite 104
Jasper, GA 30143
Phone: (706) 253-8763
Fax: (706) 253-8825

Probate Court of Pickens County
50 North Main Street
Jasper, GA 30143
Phone: 706-253-8755

Beginning Dates for Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate



Parent County

1853--Pickens County was created 5 December 1853 from Cherokee and Gilmer Counties. County seat: Jasper [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1947 The courthouse at Jasper burned 4 February 1947. The vast majority of county records survived.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Bartow  • Cherokee  • Dawson  • Gilmer  • Gordon

Pickens CountyGordon CountyChattooga CountyFloyd CountyBartow CountyCherokee CountyFulton CountyForsyth CountyWalker CountyWhitfield CountyMurray CountyGilmer CountyCatoosa CountyFannin CountyUnion CountyLumpkin CountyDawson CountyHall CountyGwinnett CountyGAPickens.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records



Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.


Divorces 1885-1886 (from newspapers) Georgia Pioneers


Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

  • Tate, Luke E. History of Pickens County. Atlanta, Ga.: Press of W.W. Brown Pub. Co., c1935. Digital version at Ancestry ($).



Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy:

- 1st Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Union), Company D
- 23rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company E
- 36th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Broyles') (Confederate), Company L
- 43rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies C and L
- 65th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate) , Company A
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project

  • Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Pickens County). 1964. Confederate pension roll, 1890-1941. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. film 393210



Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pickens County, Georgia Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

1. Index to Will Book A, 1854-1887 Georgia Pioneers

2. Index to Will Book B, 1887-1935 Georgia Pioneers

3. Index to Inventories, Appraisements, Estates, Book A, 1854-1880 Georgia Pioneers

4. Wills, 1854-1887 (digital images) Georgia Pioneers


Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Marriage Records

1828 - 1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $ 1699 - 1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry.com— index $

  • 1854-1877 - Pickens County Marriage Index 1854-1877. Batch M713491 at FamilySearch - free.[4]

Loose marriage papers have also been indexed covering the years 1871 through 1948:

  • A to C Surnames - Batch M713492 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • D to G Surnames - Batch M713493 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • H to L Surnames - Batch M713494 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • M to P Surnames - Batch M713495 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • Q to T Surnames - Batch M713496 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
  • U to Z Surnames - Batch M713497 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Death Records

1919 - 1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry.com — index $

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Marble Valley Historical Society
P.O. Box 815
Jasper, Georgia 30143
Phone 706-268-3311
Marble Valley Historical Society

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.



  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pickens County, Georgia. Page 159 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 48. At various libraries (WorldCat).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 4.6 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 September 2015, at 03:18.
  • This page has been accessed 8,797 times.