Pickhill, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Pickhill

Guide to Pickhill, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pickhill, Yorkshire
All Saints Pickhill Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allertonshire; Hallikeld
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Thirsk PLU
Registration District Bedale; Thirsk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1567
Bishop's Transcripts: 1637
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Catterick
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of St Leonard's Hospital, York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Pickhill All Saints is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Ainderby Quernhow, Allerthorpe, Holme, Holme cum Howgrave, Holme near Thirsk, Ainder by Quernhow, Pickhill with Roxby, Sinderby, Swainby, Swainby with Allerthorpe, and Howe.

The church of ALL SAINTS consists of a chancel 24 ft. 7 in. by 17 ft. 7 in., north vestry, north chapel 16 ft. 3 in. by 12 ft. 5 in., nave 37 ft. 4 in. by 18 ft. 9 in., north aisle 8 ft. 5 in., south porch, and west tower 14 ft. 3 in. square. These measurements are all internal.

The church was built about 1150, and consisted of a chancel and nave only. Of this building the richly carved chancel arch and south doorway remain with some of the walling in the south and east walls of the nave. The north aisle and chapel were added about 1200, and the chancel appears to have been enlarged early in the 14th century, its south wall having been brought out to the line of the south wall of the nave. The tower was added late in the 15th century. A restoration and enlargement took place in 1877. The north aisle was then rebuilt and the vestry added, and the restoration has left but two or three of the windows with their original stonework.

In the churchyard is the shaft of a churchyard cross with a stepped base; the shaft is octagonal stopped out to square below.

There are three bells: the first inscribed 'Jesus bee our speed 1656'; the second, 'This bell at Pickall Anno Domini 1781'; the third was recast in 1888 by Warner.

The plate includes a communion cup of 1631, by Sem Casson, with the York marks, another cup by H. R., inscribed 'Datum in usum Ecclesiæ de Pickhill 1683,' a large paten or salver, with London marks of 1717, given by Mrs. Sarah Eaden, 1733, and a modern paten; also two pewter flagons and an almsdish of 18th-century work.

The original registers begin in 1654, but there exists a copy of the older registers from 1567.

From: A History of the County of York North Riding: Volume 1 (1914), pp. 377-383. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=64771 Date accessed: 14 May 2011

PICKHILL (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Thirsk, partly in the wapentake of Allertonshire, but chiefly in that of Hallikeld, N. riding of York, 7 miles (W. N. W.) from Thirsk; containing, with the townships of Ainderby-Quornhow, Holme, Howe, Sinderby, and Swainby with Allerthorpe, 696 inhabitants, of whom 356 are in the township of Pickhill with Roxby. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Pickhill, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org
IARC = Archive.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
PICKHILL PARISH (1567) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1571-1851 1571-1851 1567-1837 1567-1837 1576-1880 1576-1880
FREG 1571-1812 1567-1812 1576-1812
FS 1571-1851

1567-1837

1576-1880

HATH 1571-1812

1567-1812

1576-1812

IARC 1571-1812

1567-1812

1576-1812

JOIN None
1567-1812

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464231.

Poor Law Unions

Thirsk Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 564-567. Date accessed: 23 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 30 September 2014.
  3. http://www.freereg.org.uk/parishes/nry.htm 'Yorkshire North Riding,'] FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:01.
  • This page has been accessed 1,362 times.