Pierce County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Pierce County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Pierce County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 11, 1887 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Rugby |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Pierce County Courthouse 240 2nd Street Rugby, ND 58368 Phone: 701.776.6161 Pierce County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth, death and burial records from 1943,
marriage records from 1888, divorce and court records from 1900
and probate records from 1898; Register of Deeds has land records[1]
History
Parent County
1887--Pierce County was created 11 March 1887 from DeSmet (Old), Bottineau, McHenry, and Rolette Counties. County seat: Rugby [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
== Places/Localiti| This North Dakota-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Benson | Bottineau | McHenry | Rolette | Sheridan | Towner | Wells
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery transcriptions for cemeteries in Pierce County, providing name, date of birth, and date of death where available.
Census
- 1890
- 1900
- 1910
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
- 1930
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Probate records of North Dakota are under the jurisdiction of the county courts. North Dakota probate records include dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers. See the wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.
Availability
The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota. They are at the clerk's office in each county courthouse. See the Repository section for address of the clerk's office.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, administrations, and guardianships.
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Pierce County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pierce County, North Dakota. Page 525 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 21:41.
- This page has been accessed 1,379 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

