Pierce County, WashingtonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Washington
Pierce County
Guide to Pierce County Washington genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Pierce County, Washington | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Washington | |
![]() Location of Washington in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 22, 1852 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Tacoma |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Pierce County Courthouse 930 Tacoma Ave South Tacoma, WA 98402 Phone: 253.798.7455 Pierce County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 2 December 1852 from Thurston County
- County Seat: Tacoma [1]
- Neighboring Counties: King | Kitsap | Kittitas | Lewis | Mason | Thurston | Yakima [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
- Sumner Cemetery, Sumner BillionGraves
Census
- 1860
- 1870
- 1878
- 1879
- 1880
- 1889
- 1890 Veterans
- 1900
- 1910
- 1920
- 1930
- 1940
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Lincoln (Tacoma)
- Tacoma
- Tacoma Central
Court Records
Directories
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Military
Some military records for this county have been digitized at the Washington State Digital Archives.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
The News Tribune (Tacoma)
Puyallup Herald (formerly Pierce County Herald)
Obituaries
Tacoma Obituary Index contains more than 350,000 entries. File is complete from 1984 to the present day.
Periodicals
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Pierce County Courthouse
930 Tacoma Ave South
Tacoma, WA 98402
Phone: 253.798.7455
County Auditor has marriage and land records.
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1890 and adoption records. [3]
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
- Washington Death Certificates 1907-1960 A free internet index to the 1907-1960 death certificates can be found at FamilySearch Record Search, no images are available. A transcribed death certificate may contain such information as name of the deceased, date and place of death, age, gender, birth date and birth place, mother’s maiden name and name of spouse, place of residence, occupation and certificate numbers.
Websites
Places
Populated Places
Tacoma
Sumner
Orting
Lakewood
Edgewood
Fort Lewis
Pierce County Washington Genealogy References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Pierce County, Washington" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pierce_County,_Washington (accessed 15 Feb 2013).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Skamania County, Washington page 734, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 May 2013, at 18:37.
- This page has been accessed 2,514 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

