Pierce County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Pierce County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Pierce County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Pierce County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 11, 1858
County Seat Ellsworth
Courthouse
Address Pierce County Courthouse
4414 W Main; PO Box 119
Ellsworth, WI 54011
Phone: 715.273.3531
Pierce County Courthouse
WI Pierce.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Pierce County Courthouse
414 W Main; PO Box 119
Ellsworth, WI 54011
Phone: 715.273.3531

County Clerk has birth and death recordsd from 1876,
marriage records from 1855, divorce records from 1875,
probate records from 1878 and court records from 1869 [1] )

Historical Facts

Parent County

1858--Pierce County was created 25 February 1858 from St. Croix County. County seat: Ellsworth [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable index to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~wipierce/census.htm

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Pierce County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~wipierce/land.htm

Local Histories

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~wipierce/cities.htm

Maps

http://www.wisconline.com/counties/pierce/map.html

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Pierce County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Pierce County.

- 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company C
- 2nd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company M
- 6th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company B
- 8th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company D
- 12th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~wipierce/military.htm

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

http://www.piercecountyherald.com/

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Pierce County Wisconsin Courthouse.jpg
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Divorce
Death

Voting Registers

Web Sites

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~wipierce/

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Pierce Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 October 2014, at 15:51.
  • This page has been accessed 4,778 times.