Pike County, IndianaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Indiana Gotoarrow.png Pike County

Guide to Pike County, Indiana ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Indiana
Online Records
Pike County, Indiana
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Indiana
Location of Indiana in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1816
County Seat Petersburg
Courthouse
Address Pike County Courthouse
801 Main Street
Petersburg, IN 47567
Phone: 812.354.6025
Website
Adopt-a-wiki page
Indiana Genealogical Society.JPG This page adopted by:
Indiana Genealogical Society
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Land
Probate
1882*
1817*
1887*
1817
1817
*For earlier dates,

try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

  • Parent Counties: Formed the 21 December 1816 from Gibson, Knox and Perry Counties.
    [1]
  • County Seat: Petersburg [2]


Neighboring Counties

Knox  • Daviess  • Dubois  • Warrick  • Gibson

Martin CountyOhio CountyWabash CountyCrawford CountyGallatin CountyWhite CountyEdwards CountyHenderson CountyUnion CountyLawrence CountyJasper CountyRichland CountyWebster CountyMcLean CountyDaviess CountyHancock CountyDaviess CountyGibson CountyPosey CountyPike CountyVanderburgh CountyWarrick CountyKnox CountyDubois CountySpencer CountyINPike.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Indiana County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Indiana County Boundary Maps" (1790-1873) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Indiana Counties see: Indiana Counties with Burned Courthouses

Pike County, Indiana Resources

The Pike County GenWeb site hosts numerous data bases; and a search engine that searches everything on the site except census and query boards. Click here to access this site.

Bible Records

Biographies

Business Records

Cemeteries

There are 166 known cemeteries in Pike County. Click here for a listing of known burials in cemeteries by township. Click on the township in which the cemetery is located for a list of all of the cemeteries in the township, and then click on the cemetery name to see a list of names (alphabetized) and dates of people known to be buried in the cemetery.

The data can also be accessed by clicking here to access the Pike GenWeb main page, typing the name of the individual you are seeking in the search engine box and clicking on Find. [note, this will return links to all pages that contain the name you entered into the search box. You must search through the list to find a cemetery reference, if it exists.]

Maps of 53 of the cemetery location are available; click here. You can also show its relative proximity to communities, libraries, and other cemeteries by clicking of the "Liasrws places near" above the map. Clicking on and individual pin will initiate a pop-up with the distance from the central (initial cemetery) location.

National Cemeteries in Indiana
There are 4 National Cemeteries in Indiana. Click here for links to these.

Census Records

For tips on accessing Pike County, Indiana census records online, see: Indiana Census.

Church Records

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.


For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.


Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Indiana Church Records in online catalogs like:


Court Records

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic and Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogies

Histories

1816--Pike County was created 21 December 1816  and named for Gen Zebulon M. Pike County seat: Petersburg [1]

Local Histories
  • Anderson, Forrest R. 1942.Historical notes on Dubois & Pike Counties, Indiana. (Ireland, Ind: [s.n.].) FHL US/CAN Film 928078 Item 3 FHL Collectionother librariesFamilySearch Books Onlineancestry.com$
  • McClellan, Ruth Miley. Pike County History: Bicentennial Edition 1776-1976. Petersburg, Ind: Pike County Historical Society; Evansville, Ind: Printed by Unigraphic, Inc., 1976.
  • McClellan, Ruth Miley. Our people of Pike County, Indiana. Evansville, Ind: Unigraphic, 1878. 268 pages +16 p Index. LOC: F532.P6 M32, Dewey Decimal: 977.2/36 (biographies)
  • Petersburg Womans Club. A History of Pike County, Ind. Petersburg, IN:typescript, 80 leaves. Copy at Barrett Memorial Library, Petersburg, Indiana. Microfilm at FHL
  • Pike County Historical Society. Pike County, Indiana History and Families, 1816-1987. Paducah, Kentucky: Turner Pub. Co., c1987, 236 p. FHL
  • History of Pike and Dubois counties, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc. : together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the state of Indiana. 2000. (La Crosse, Wis: Brookhaven Press. Harvard (18th ed.)) 977.23 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collectionother library   INTERNET ARCHIVE

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the courthouse, where records are currently housed.

See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents. 


Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

For a map of the 17 Southwest Indiana Counties, Click here, then select the Southwest Region from the Regional Township Maps dropdown box

Military Records

War of 1812
Civil War

Civil War service men from Pike County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pike County.

Civil War Books
  • "Military History" Chapter 5 in History of Pike and Dubois counties, Indiana: from the earliest time to the present, with biographical sketches, reminiscences, notes, etc.: together with an extended history of the Northwest, the Indiana Territory, and the state of Indiana. 2000. (La Crosse, Wis: Brookhaven Press. Harvard (18th ed.)) (page 317-324), 977.23 H2h FHL US/CAN Book FHL Collection other libraryINTERNET ARCHIVE
World War I
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Occupations

Periodicals

Public Records

School Records
Voter Registration

Probate Records

In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.


Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Indiana Probate Records in online catalogs like:


Repositories

See also a List of Indiana Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives
County Courthouse

Pike County Courthouse
801 Main Street
Petersburg, IN 47567
Phone: 812.354.6025

County Clerk has marriage, divorce and court records from 1817
and probate records from early 1800’s.
County health Department has birth and death records.
County Recorder has land records. [3]

Family History Centers

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the Family History Center directory.

Libraries
Museums
Societies

CountyPublic Library
There are three branches of the Pike County Library. The genealogy department is in the Petersburg branch, aka Bartlet Memorial Library, which is located at:
1104 Main Street
Petersburg, IN 47567
Ph 812-354-6257, ex 206
Fax 812-354-6259

Unique Features of the Genealogy Collection

  • Curl Collection

Families of Pike County Indiana, an unpublished collection of interviews by a Mrs. Curl with people in the community about their families. Available only on library computers no children given to Mrs Alexander 1900
shirley Sbehme@pikeco.lib.in.us

• Newspaper Index
to family history information in 4 local newspapers 1874-1940?
(the newspapers are on microfilm)
- Pike County Democrat
- Petersburg Press
- Otwell Star
- Press Dispatch


Taxation

Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.


For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Indiana Tax Records in online catalogs like:


Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records. See also How to order Indiana Vital Records or order electronically online.

Marriage licenses were required by counties beginning in 1800. Original marriage records are held at the office of the Pike County, Indiana County Clerk with divorce records located with the Pike County, Indiana Clerk of Courts.

Beginning Dates for Pike County Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1900
1817
1900
1820
1817
1817

Original Records are in the county courthouse, in the following offices:

Pike County Records Offices

Birth Death

Health Office
812-354-8797

Marriage Probate

Clerks Office
812-354-6025,
812-354-6369 fax:
PO Box 125 (mailing address)
Land
Recorders Office
812-354-6747,
812-354-2532, fax
Birth Records

Extracted birth data are on Pike GenWeb, Births

  • Indiana State Digital Archives for Death, E-Publication, Institution, Military, Misc Historical, Naturalization Records can be searched by person name (accessed 26 May 2011)
Marriage Records
Death Records


Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Indiana Vital Records in online catalogs like:


Pike County, Indiana Web Sites

Overview of Pike County from Wikipedia, Chamber of Commerce, and ebodunk

Places

caption


• Petersburg
• Spurgeon
• Winslow

Unincorporated
• Otwell
• Stendaz
• Velpen

Townships
• Clay
• Jefferson
• Lockhart
• Logan
• Madison
• Marion
• Monroe
• Patoka
• Washington

Pike County, Indiana References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Pike County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pike_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pike County, Indiana 215 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:01.
  • This page has been accessed 12,133 times.