Pike County, MississippiEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Pike County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


United States Gotoarrow.png  Mississippi Gotoarrow.png  Pike County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Mississippi
Online Records


Pike County, Mississippi
Map
Map of Mississippi highlighting Pike County
Location in the state of Mississippi
Map of the U.S. highlighting Mississippi
Location of Mississippi in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 9 December, 1815
County Seat Magnolia
Courthouse
Address Pike County Courthouse
PO Box 309
Magnolia, Ms 39652
Phone: 601-783-3362
Pike County Courthouse]

Contents

County Courthouse

Pike County Courthouse
PO Box 309
Magnolia, Ms 39652
Phone: 601-783-3362

Clerk Chancer Court has divorce, probate, court and land records from 1882. Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records. [1]

Beginning Dates for Pike County, Mississippi Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate




1882
1882

History

Parent County

1815--Pike County was created 9 December 1815 from Marion County.
County seat: Magnolia [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Mississippi county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Mississippi County Boundary Maps" (1785-1918) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

1882--Some records were lost. For a list of record loss in Mississippi counties see: Mississippi Counties with Burned Courthouses


Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Pike County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pike County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War
  • Men from Pike County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pike County. 
- 3rd Battalion, Mississippi Infantry
Company E - McNair Rifles, aka Pike County Rifles
- 4th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
Company I - Stockdale Rangers
- 7th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
Company B - Bogue Chitto Guards
Company H - Dahlgren Rifles
World War I and II

Naturalization

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Taxation

Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See also How to order Mississippi Vital Records or order electronically online.

See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.

Birth
Marriage
  • 1882-1885 - Pike County Marriage Books A and B Index 1882-1885. Batch M520231 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1888-1895 - Pike County Marriage Books C and D Index 1888-1895. Batch M520234 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1890-1901 - Pike County Marriage Books D and E Index 1890-1901. Batches M520233 and M749942 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1895 - Pike County Marriage Book F Index 1895. Batch M520235 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1895-1901 - Pike County Marriage Books F thru H Index 1895-1901. Batch M749937 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1897-1904 - Pike County Marriage Books G thru I Index 1897-1904. Batch M749938 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1901-1906 - Pike County Marriage Books J thru L Index 1901-1906. Batch M749975 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1904-1910 - Pike County Marriage Books K thru N Index 1904-1910. Batch M749940 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1906-1911 - Pike County Marriage Books M thru O Index 1906-1911. Batch M749962 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1910-1916 - Pike County Marriage Books P thru R Index 1910-1916. Batch M749941 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1911-1917 - Pike County Marriage Books Q thru S Index 1911-1917. Batch M749955 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1916-1921 - Pike County Marriage Books T thru V Index 1916-1921. Batch M749988 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1917-1922 - Pike County Marriage Books U thru W Index 1917-1922. Batch M749977 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1921-1924 - Pike County Marriage Book X Index 1921-1924. Batch M749987 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1922-1927 - Pike County Marriage Books Y and Z Index 1922-1927. Batch M749956 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1924-1927 - Pike County Marriage Book AA Index 1924-1927. Batch M749939 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

See also a List of Mississippi Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perry County, Mississippi page 382, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.00 3.01 3.02 3.03 3.04 3.05 3.06 3.07 3.08 3.09 3.10 3.11 3.12 3.13 3.14 3.15 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f2/Igimississippip.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 July 2014, at 23:23.
  • This page has been accessed 6,876 times.