Pike County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Pike County

Guide to Pike County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Pike County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded Decemeber 14, 1818
County Seat Bowling Green
Courthouse
Address Pike County Courthouse
115 West Main Street
Bowling Green, Mo 63334
Phone:  573-324-2412
Pike County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

  • Recorder of Deeds has land records from 1819 and marriage records from 1825
  • Clerk Circuit Court has court records[1]

History

Parent County

1818--Pike County was created 14 December 1818 from St. Charles County. County seat: Bowling Green [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audrain  • Calhoun County, Illinois  • Lincoln  • Montgomery  • Pike County, Illinois  • Ralls

Pike CountyLincoln CountyWarren CountyMontgomery CountySt. Charles CountyRalls CountyShelby CountyGreene CountyCalhoun CountyJersey CountyScott CountyMarion CountyPike CountyMonroe CountyAudrain CountyCallaway CountyMOPike1.JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pike County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • The history of Pike County, Missouri : an encyclopedia of useful information...condensed history of...Missouri ...St. Louis...history of Pike County...biographical sketches.... Des Moines, Iowa : Mills, 1882.

Maps

Mopike.jpg

Military

Civil War
- 33rd Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company D
:- 39th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 1st Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I
:- 10th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company A
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company B
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company C
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company D
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company E
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B attached battalion
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C attached battalion
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D attached battalion
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E attached battalion
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F attached battalion
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G attached battalion
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company K
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company H
:- 3rd Regiment, Missouri State Militia Cavalry (2nd Organization) (Union), Company I
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A attached battalion
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H
:- 49th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company I

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pike County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1854-1870 - Pike County Birth Index 1854-1870. Batches C515602 and C515603 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
  • 1820-1840 - Pike County Marriage Index 1820-1840. Batch M515601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1825-1865 - Pike County Marriage Index 1825-1865. Batch M515602 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1865-1881 - Pike County Marriage Index 1865-1881. Batch M515603 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1881-1885 - Pike County Marriage Index 1881-1885. Batch M515604 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • Pike County, Missouri Marriages: 1820-1840 at Ancestry.com ($)
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Pike County Genealogical Society

They have a number of resources available on their website that encompass the following:

  • Marriages
  • Census
  • Obituaries
  • Churches and Cemeteries

Historical Society

Pike County Historical Society
1217 Kentucky Street
Louisiana, MO 63353
Phone: (573) 754-5303
Website: http://www.pcgenweb.com/pchs/

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Pike County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Pike County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Pike County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Pike County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Pike County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Pike County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pike County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 5,974 times.