Pillaton, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Pillaton, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pillaton, Cornwall
Pillaton St Odulph Cornwall.jpg
Pillaton St Odulph Cornwall
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans PLU
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PILLATON, a parish, in the union of St. Germans, Middle division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 3½ miles (S.) from Callington. [1]

Pillaton (Cornish: Trebeulyow)  St Odulph's,is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.

The church has a west tower and a south aisle. The wagon roofs are old and there is a fine monument of 1772 to James Tillie.

Land use in the parish is dominated by farming, although less than 10% of resident workers are employed in this industry. The majority of residents work outside the parish, and Pillaton is effectively a dormitory village for people employed in Plymouth and South East Cornwall.

The modern parish is one of the St Dominic, Landulph and St Mellion with Pillaton, United Parish, United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Pillaton, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Pillaton, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1557-1812

COPC 1557-1910
1557-1812, 1823-1913
1557-1938
FMP 1557-1900 1557-1836 1813-1837
FREG
1557-1812

FS PRs 1838-1907 1813-1905
IGI 1557-1812 1557-1812
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 188

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241258..

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Germans Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Pillaton in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 567-571. Date accessed: 20 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,172 times.