Pilling, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Lancashire go to Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Pilling, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pilling, Lancashire
Pilling St John the Baptist Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Amounderness
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Garstang PLU
Registration District Garstang
Records begin
Parish registers: 1630
Bishop's Transcripts: 1688
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Amounderness
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Amounderness
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

PILLING (St John the Baptist), a chapelry, in the parish and union of Garstang, hundred of Amounderness, N. division of Lancashire, 7½ miles west by north of Garstang. The chapel was erected in 1719-21. There is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Transcripts for this parish are available.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Pilling chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Garstang to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg
MOCO = Mocavo.com


PILLING Chapelry (1630) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1631-1900 1630-1900 None
LOPC 1630-1900 1630-1900 1685-1900
MOCO 1630-1721 1630-1721 1630-1721
AC 1655-1753 1655-1753 1655-1753
GARSTANG ST HELEN PARISH (1563) Indexes(ancient parish containing PILLING Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials 
FS 1567-1889 1567-1900 None
LOPC 1689-1862 1689-1900 1689-1842 
AC 1567-1734 1567-1734 1567-1734


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Pilling and comprising the whole ancient parish of Garstang to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the GARSTANG ST HELEN PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886.


Poor Law Unions

Garstang Poor Law Union, Lancashire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Churches Conservation Trust for old chapel http://www.visitchurches.org.uk/findachurch/st-john-the-baptist-pilling/?region=Lancashire

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 567-571. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 October 2013 .

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:29.
  • This page has been accessed 2,421 times.