Pima County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arizona Gotoarrow.png Pima County

Guide to Pima County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Pima County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Pima County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded One of the original four counties, 1853
County Seat Tucson
Courthouse
Address 110 West Congress St.
Tucson, Arizona 85701-1317
Tel: (520) 740-3200
Fax: (520) 798-3531
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Pima County, Arizona

Contents

County Courthouse

Pima County Superior Courts Bldg.
110 West Congress St.
Tucson, Arizona 85701-1317
Tel: (520) 740-3200
Fax: (520) 798-3531

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1863 [1]


Holdings: criminal, civil (incl. traffic), domestic, real property, divorce, probate, guardianship, marriage.
Beginning in 2010, all civil cases 50 years old and probate cases 100 years old must be sent to the Arizona State Archives for preservation.[2] However, indexes and microfilm copies of those records are available at the courthouse in Legal Records, Room 241. The microfilm is not for public use due to mishandling and degradation. The court's online Record Search contains an index of cases from approximately 1980 through present day.
For downtown parking garage information, please check Pima.gov's Parking Facility Page.

History

Pima County, named for the Pima Indians, is in southeastern Arizona. Today it is home to Arizona's second largest metropolitan area, which includes Tucson, which is also its county seat, and the location of many records of value to researchers of this area. In 1847 the United States flag was first raised over Tucson by the United States Mormon Battalion, the party that blazed the southern route across to San Diego.

Parent County

10 Nov 1864 - Arizona created Pima County.[11] County seat: Tucson [12] This county is named for the Pima Indians. Look for records in Pima County.

Boundary Changes

Daughter counties[2]:

  • 1 Feb 1875 - Arizona created Pinal County from lands in Maricopa and Pima counties.[13] This county named for the Pinal mountains. Look for records in Maricopa, Pima, and Pinal counties.
  • 1 Feb 1881 - Arizona created Cochise County from the eastern part of Pima County.[14] This county named for Cochise, the great Apache warrior who had died seven years before. Look for records in Cochise and Pima counties.
  • 15 Mar 1899 - Arizona created Santa Cruz County from land in Pima County.[15] This county named for the Santa Cruz River. Look for records in Pima and Santa Cruz counties.

An animated map of Arizona County changes is available from the Pima County History (scroll down).

See also Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Achi Diamond Bell Ranch Kui Tatk Puertocito Soldier Camp
Ahan Owuch Dobson Kuit Vaya Quijotoa South Komelik
Ajo Drexel Heights Kupk Quinlin South Tucson
Ak Chin Duval Las Guijas Rankin Stan Shuatuk
Ak Chut Vaya East Sahuarita Littletown Redington Stoa Pitk
Ak Komelik El Rio Loma Linda Rillito Stockham
Ali Ak Chin Emery Park Lukeville Rincon Stotonyak
Ali Chukson Emika Maish Vaya Rosemont Camp Summit
Ali Molina Esmond Makgum Havoka Rosemont Junction Sweetwater
Ali Oidak Flowing Wells Marana Rowood Tanque Verde
Amphitheater Gibson Mexican Town Sahuarita Tatai Toak
Anegam Greaterville Mountain View Sahuarita Heights Tatk Kam Vo
Arivaca Green Valley Narcho Santos San Agustin Tatkum Vo
Artesa Gu Chuapo Naviska San Luis Three Points
Avra Gu Oidak Nawt Vaya San Miguel Topawa
Avra Valley Gu Vo Nelson San Pedro Tortolita
Buenos Aires Gurli Put Vo New Tucson San Rafael Tucson
Casas Adobes Haivan Vaya Newfield San Vicente Twin Buttes
Catalina Haivana Nakya Noipa Kam San Xavier Uhs Kug
Catalina Foothills Hali Murk Nolic Sandwash Mill Utevak
Charco Hashan Chuchg Oit Ihuk Santa Cruz Vail
Chiawuli Tak Helvetia Old Tucson Santa Lucia Vainom Kug
Chico Shunie Hickiwan Oro Valley Santa Rosa Vakamok
Childs Hoa Murk Palo Verde Stand Sapano Vayo Valley View
Chiuli Shaik Hoi Oidak Pan Tak Sasabe Vamori
Choulic Hotason Vo Pantano Schuchk Vaya Chin
Chukson Itak Papago Farms Schuchuli Ventana
Chukut Kuk Jaynes Peach Pu Secundino Vaison Chin
Chutum Vaya Kahachi Miliuk Pia Oik Sells Ventana
Chuwut Murk Kaihon Kug Piato Vaya Shaotkam Viason Chin
Civano Kingston Knolls Terrace Picture Rocks Sikort Chuapo Vopolo Havoka
Comobabi Kino Pipyak Sikul Himatk Wahak Hotrontk
Continental Ko Vaya Pisinemo Sil Nakya Why
Corona de Tucson Kom Kug Pitoikam Silver Bell Wickchoupai
Cortaro Kom Vo Polo Village Siovi Shuatak Willow Canyon
Cowlic Komak Wuacho Polvo Sivili Chuchg Wilmot
Craycroft Kuakatch Pueblo Gardens Skoksonak

Communities

Binghampton. Outside of Old Tucson there was a Mormon settlement called Binghampton. There are a series of leaflets published that contain many of the stories of this community, "Binghampton: The Life and Times of its people since 1892". Author is unknown, but going to the Binghampton Cemetery caretaker is the key to research for these ancestors. See cemetery reference below.

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

(Main Article: Pima County, Arizona Cemeteries )

The following cemeteries are listed within GNIS for Pima County:

All Faiths Memorial Cemetery
Evergreen Cemetery
Grantwood Memorial Park
Gunsight Cemetery
Helvetia Cemetery
Holy Hope Cemetery
Santa Rosa Francisco Cemetery
Silver Bell Cemetery
South Lawn Memorial Cemetery
Twin Buttes Cemetery
White Cross Cemetery

Source Information: USGS Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)

The Old Tucson (aka National or City) Cemetery was excavated in preparation for the construction of a new Joint Court Building. For extensive archealogical and historical information visit the Project's Website.

Binghampton LDS Cemetery (aka Mormon Cemetery) at Find A Grave
Located, in Tuscon, north of River Road at:
4001 N. Alvernon Way

Binghampton Cemetery Gravestones (photographed) at Arizona Gravestone Photo Project

Map of Cemeteries of Pima County compiled from topographic maps. Locations of over 100 cemeteries which are not found in GNIS. Driving directions and satellite imagery available through Google Maps.

A Map of Columbaria of Pima County is also available. Locations of churches with columbaria or memorial gardens for interment or scattering of remains.

Indexes, transcriptions, and photographs of Pima County Cemeteries can be found at:

Census

Censuses were conducted in 1866, 1867, 1872, 1874, 1876. They include name, residence, whether head of family, number of single persons over 21, number between 10 and 21, number under 10, and remarks.

In 1882, the census lists name only.

FHL Arizona, Pima - Census

For information regarding extant censuses, also see: Arizona Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Ajo
  • Binghampton
  • Tucson

Roman Catholic Diocese of Tucson Archives and Library
Msgr. Donald H. Hughes Pastoral Center at St. Ambrose Parish
300 S. Tucson Blvd.
Tucson, AZ 85716
Tel: (520) 886-5201 (Call for Appt.)
Website: www.diocesetucson.org/Archives%20website/archiveindex.htm
The diocese was first established in 1868. The archive's collection includes sacramental registers from across southwest, Bishop's correspondence, ephemera, art and artifacts.[16]

Correctional Institutions

FHL Arizona, Pima - Correctional institutions

Court

Arizona Superior Court in Pima County - www.sc.pima.gov/

Pima County Consolidated Justice Court - www.jp.pima.gov/

Other Courts may be located here: www.courtreference.com/Pima-County-Arizona-Courts.htm

FHL Arizona, Pima - Court records

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Pima County Recorder's Office
Holdings: deeds, mining records, mortgages.

FHL Arizona, Pima - Land and property (including records from the Recorder's Office)
FHL Arizona, Pima - Land and Property - Indexes
FHL Arizona, Pima - Land and property - Maps

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pima County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records offers an Arizona Biographical Database.

The University of Arizona has compiled information about communities, history, and research materials relating to Southern Arizona at Through our Parents' Eyes.

For history of western Pima County (Ajo, Why, Lukeville and Tohono O'odham Nation communities) the Ajo Cultural and Historical Inventory Project has identified "where and how to access information on the history and culture of Ajo and western Pima County."

Maps

Azpima.png

FHL Arizona, Pima - Maps
Map of Arizona County changes (1864-1983) at the Pima County Justice Court's site (scroll down).

Military

Naturalization

FHL Arizona, Pima - Naturalization and citizenship

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pima County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Pima - Probate records.

Original records held by the Clerk of the Superior Court or the Arizona State Archives.

FHL Arizona, Pima - Probate recordsFHL Arizona, Pima - Guardianship

Taxation

FHL Arizona, Pima - Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

4,742 marriages from 3 Sep 1864 to 20 Sep 1943 are listed on the Western States Marriage Index. Certificates are available from either the Clerk of the Superior Court or the Arizona State Archives.

Arizona Genealogy Birth and Death Certificates (including Pima County) available from the Arizona Department of Health Services. As of 2009, birth certificates from 1855-1933 and death certificates from 1844-1958 are provided in .pdf.

Pima County Health Department issues certificates for Arizona Births from 1 Jan 1950 and Arizona Deaths from 1 Feb 2008. All other certificates may be ordered from the State Office of Vital Records.

FHL Arizona, Pima - Vital Records & FHL Arizona, Pima - Vital records - Indexes

Voting

FHL Arizona, Pima - Voting registers

Societies and Libraries

Arizona Historical Society
949 E. 2nd St.
Tucson, AZ 85719
Tel: (520) 628-5774, Fax: (520) 629-8966
Website: http://www.arizonahistoricalsociety.org
AHS's Tucson Research Library and Archives holds unpublished manuscripts, biographical files, books, maps, newspapers, oral histories, photographs, and more.

Arizona State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 42075
Tucson, AZ 85733
Website: AzSGS.org

Ajo Historical Society
160 S Mission Rd.
Ajo, AZ 85321-2601
Tel: (520) 387-7105

Jewish Heritage Center
564 S Stone Ave
PO BOX 889
Tucson, AZ 85701
Tel:(520) 670-9073
(Formerly the Jewish Historical Society of Southern Arizona and the Historic Stone Avenue Temple)

Green Valley Genealogical Society
PO Box 1009
Green Valley, AZ 85622
Website: www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~azgvgs/

Pima County Public Libraries
Website: http://www.library.pima.gov/

Joel D. Valdez Main Library
101 N. Stone Ave.
Tucson, AZ 85701
Tel: (520) 594-5500
Holdings include: Cele Peterson Arizona Collection (local history), historical Tucson newspapers, assorted other papers, online resources available to library card holders, interlibrary loan

Salzar-Ajo Branch Library
33 Plaza Ajo, AZ 85321
Tel: (520) 387-6075
Holdings: Ajo Cultural and Historical Inventory Project, newspapers, online resources available to library card holders

Postal History Foundation - Peggy J. Slusser Memorial Philatelic Library
920 N First Ave
Tucson, AZ 85719
Tel: (520) 623-6652
Website: www.postalhistoryfoundation.org/
Collection searchable at: www.library.pima.gov/research/collections/phf.php

Sun City Vistoso Genealogical Society
Oro Valley, AZ
Website: scvgs.org/

University of Arizona
Main Library
POB 210055
1510 E University Blvd
Tucson, AZ 82721-0055
Tel: (520) 621-6441
Website: www.library.arizona.edu/
Holdings: Special Collections (manuscripts, photographs, rare books), newspapers, government documents, map collection, ethnic records, directories, Jewish collections
Check website for parking information.

Family History Centers

Ajo Arizona
801 N Cedar St
Ajo, Pima, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-387-6751

Sahuarita Arizona
17699 S Camino De Las Quintas
Sahuarita, Pima, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-399-1077

Tucson Arizona
500 S Langley Ave
Tucson, Pima, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-298-0905

Tucson Arizona West
3530 W Magee
Tucson, Pima, Arizona, United States
Phone: 520-579-3493
Introduction to Family History Centers

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pima County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 Barbara Baldwin Salyer and Jean Powell Banowit, Arizona genealogical and historical research guide : early sources for southern Arizona : including Cochise, Pima, Pinal, and Santa Cruz counties (Tucson, Ariz. : Arizona State Genealogical Society, 2006).
  3. Williams 108-110
  4. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  5. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  6. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  7. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  8. N.M. Terr. Laws 1859-1860, 9th assy. /p. 74
  9. N.M. Terr. Laws 1861-1862, 11th assy. /p. 18
  10. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  11. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  12. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  13. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1875, 8th assy./ pp. 19-20
  14. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1881, 11th assy./ pp. 4-7
  15. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1899, 20th assy./ pp. 49-57
  16. Arizona Memory Project, "Archives of the Catholic Diocese of Tucson." http://azmemory.lib.az.us/cdm4/index.php?CISOROOT=/rcdhilites&mode=repository

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 23:10.
  • This page has been accessed 12,457 times.