Pinal County, ArizonaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.pngArizona Gotoarrow.png Pinal County

Guide to Pinal County, Arizona ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Arizona
Online Records


Pinal County, Arizona
Map
Map of Arizona highlighting Pinal County
Location in the state of Arizona
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arizona
Location of Arizona in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 1, 1875
County Seat Florence
Courthouse
Address Pinal County

Superior Court Administration
971 Jason Lopez Circle
Building A
Florence, AZ 85132

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Pinal County, Arizona
 

Contents

County Courthouse

Pinal County Courthouse
100 N Florence
Florence, AZ 85232
Phone: 520-868-6000

Clerk Superior Court has marriage, probate and court records from 1875
and divorce records from 1883; County Recorder has land records [1]

History

Parent County

1 Feb 1875 - Arizona created Pinal County from lands in Maricopa and Pima counties.[14] County seat: Florence [13] This county named for the Pinal mountains. Look for records in Maricopa, Pima, and Pinal counties.

Boundary Changes

  • 9 Feb 1877 - Arizona expanded Pinal County by adding a small area of land that had been separated from main body of Pima County.[15] Look for records in Pima and Pinal counties

See Previous Jurisdictions to land in Arizona showing dates the jurisdictions were created and maps. This will help in determining what jurisdiction your ancestor lived in and where the records are now located.

For animated maps illustrating Arizona county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arizona County Boundary Maps" (1852-1993) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arizona counties see: Arizona Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Adamsville Chiapuk Jackrabbit House Parsons Grove Smelter Town
Ak Chin Chuichu Kearny Picacho Snaketown
Ak-Chin Village Cochran Kelvin Price Sombrero Butte
Apache Junction Coolidge Kohatk Queen Valley Sonora
Arizola Cooper Creek La Palma Randolph South Santan
Arizona City Cottonwood Laguna Ray Stanfield
Avra Dudleyville Magma Ray Junction Stotonic
Bapchule Eleven Mile Corner Mammoth Red Rock Superior
Barkerville Eloy Maricopa Reymert Sweetwater
Blackwater Enid Maricopa Wells Riverside Tat Momoli
Bon Florence Nariska Sacate Tiger
Branaman Florence Junction North Komelik Sacaton Toltec
Burns Fordville North Mammoth Sacaton Flats Troy
Cactus Forest Friendly Corners Oak Wells San Manuel Vaiva Vo
Campo Bonito Gold Camp Olberg Santa Cruz Valley Farms
Casa Blanca Hayden Junction Oracle Santan Wymola
Casa del Oro Heaton Oracle Junction Shopishk Youngberg
Casa Grande Highjinks Palm Springs Sif Vaya























Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Pinal County, Arizona census records online, see: Arizona Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arizona denominations, view the Arizona Church Records wiki page. LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Coolidge
  • Ray
  • Superior

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arizona Land and Property for additional information about early Arizona land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pinal County, Arizona. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Arizona Local Histories.

Maps

Azpinal.png

Military

Newspapers

Finding More Arizona Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pinal County, Arizona newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

From 1850 to 1864 during the territorial period, probate records of Arizona were kept by the probate courts of New Mexico. Then until 1912, the records were handled by county probate courts. Since then probate records, such as wills, claims, administrations, case files, and calendars are kept in the custody of the clerk of the superior court in the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Arizona, Pinal - Probate records.

Taxation

Template:AZ Tax Intro

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arizona Department of Health Services , the county clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

Societies and Libraries

Casa Grande Valley Historical Society
110 W. Florence Blvd.
Casa Grande, AZ 85222
Telephone 520-836-2223
Hours 1-5 M-Sat.

Coolidge Historical Society
161 West Harding Avenue
P.O. Box 1186
Coolidge, Arizona 85228
Telephone 520-723-7186
Hours Sunday 1:00 P.M. –
4:00 P.M. and by request

Pinal County Historical Society
715 S. Main Street
Florence, AZ 85232
Telephone 520-868-4382
Hours 11-4 Tues.-Sat.; 12-4 Sun

Oracle Historical Society
825 E. Mt. Lemmon Rd.
Oracle, AZ 85623
Telephone 520-896-9609
Hours 1-5 Sat. & Sun.

Superior Historical Society
300 Main Street
Superior, AZ 85273
Telephone 520-689-5752
Hours 10-2 Weds., Thurs., Sat.; 11-3 Sun.

Family History Centers

Introduction to Family History Centers
Casa Grande Arizona
1555 N Colorado Dr
Casa Grande, Pinal, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-836-7519

San Manuel 1st Arizona
1002 N McNab Pkwy
San Manuel, Pinal, Arizona, United States
Telephone: 520-385-4855

These are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.


Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pinal County, Arizona p. 56. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Williams 108-110
  3. U.S. Stat., vol. 9, pp. 922-943; Parry, 102: 29-59; Van Zandt, 11, 28-29; Walker and Bufkin, 19, 20A
  4. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 1st sess./p. 119; N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /pp. 266, 292
  5. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  6. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  7. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, pp. 1031-1037; Van Zandt, 11, 29, 162
  8. U.S. Stat., vol. 10, ch. 245[1854]/p. 575; Van Zandt, 162; Walker and Bufkin, 21-22
  9. N.M. Terr. Laws 1854, 4th assy. /p. 57
  10. U.S. Stat., vol. 12, ch. 56[1863]/pp. 664-665; Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy./ pp. vii-viii; Van Zandt, 162
  11. Howell Code, Ariz. Terr. Laws 1864, 1st assy., ch. 2/ pp. 24-25
  12. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1871, 6th assy./ pp. 53-54
  13. 13.0 13.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  14. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1875, 8th assy./ pp. 19-20
  15. Ariz. Terr. Laws 1877, 9th assy./ pp. 108-109

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 November 2014, at 23:10.
  • This page has been accessed 6,079 times.