Pine Ridge Indian Agency (South Dakota)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indian Research Gotoarrow.png Indians of South Dakota Gotoarrow.png Pine Ridge Indian Agency (South Dakota)

 

The Pine Ridge Agency is a currently operating agency of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Its supervising office is the Aberdeen Area Office.

Contents

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Sioux, Cheyenne, Arapaho

History

The Red Cloud Agency was established in 1871 on the North Platte River near Fort Laramie in eastern Wyoming, primarily for the the Oglala Sioux Indians. The agency was moved in 1873 to a site in what is now northeastern Nebraska, on the White River. In 1877, it was moved to the Missouri River at the mouth of Medicine Creek in  what is now South Dakota. In 1878, it moved to White Clay Creek and was renamed the Pine Ridge Agency[1][2].

Records

Some records for the Pine Ridge Agency are in the Central Plains Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in Kansas City[3], including:

  • Annuity and allotment records, 1877-1941
  • School census records, 1895-1953
  • Student folders, 1921-1955
  • Criminal case files, 1927-1960
  • School attendance and enrollment records, 1930-1943
  • And other administrative and fiscal records, 1871-1967

Reports of Inspection of the Field Jurisdictions of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1873-1900 have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of Microcopy Number M1070. The reports for Pine Ridge Agency, 1880-1895 and 1897-1900, are on rolls 26-37 of that Microcopy set[4]. Copies are available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll numbers 1617709-1617710).

Annual Indian Census Rolls were taken at this agency for 1887, 1886-1888, 1890, 1892-1905, 1907, 1913, 1915-1939, and 1942-1943. These rolls have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M595, rolls 362 thru 384[5]. Copies of these records are also available at the National Archives, their Regional Archives, and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll numbers 580741-580763). These census rolls are also available online at Ancestry.com's subscription web site.

The 1900 federal census included population schedules for the Pine Ridge Reservation. The census includes the non-Indian employees of the Pine Ridge Agency, as well as many pages of Indian Population Schedules for the native population of the Reservation. They are recorded as District 46, Pine Ridge Agency], in Shannon County, South Dakota.

Miscellaneous Letters Sent by the Agents or Superintendents at the Pine Ridge Indian Agency, 1876-1914. M1229. 76 rolls. FHL Film 1638193 (first film of 76).

Letters Sent to the Office of Indian Affairs by the Pine Ridge Agency, 1875-1914. M1282. 52 rolls. FHL Film: 1617496 (first film of 52)

Microfilm copies of ...Narrative and Statistical Reports... for the Pine Ridge Agency, 1907-1935, are included in National Archives Microcopy M1011, rolls 106-107[6], available in the National Archives system and in the collections of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City (their microfilm numbers 1724324-1724325).

Annuity Rolls, 1907-1931. FHL Film: 1014644-1014648

Land Allotment Records, 1904-1944 FHL Film: 1014649-1014650, and 1014640, and 1002767-1002768, and 1014641

Grazing Assignments 1928-1950 FHL Film: 1014642, 1002762-1002766, 1014643

Heirship or Probate FHL Film: 1014638, 1002760-61, and 1014639 - Film incorrectly titled Red Cloud Agency

Land Patents 1912-1920 FHL Film: 1014641 item 2 index item 3

Census Records 1886-1943  FHL Film: 580741-580763

Census Records 1897-1932 FHL Film: 1014634, and 1002754-1002757

Occupation 1878-1881. Supplies and Stores transported from Missouri River by the Indian train and freighters, FHL Film: 1014644

School Records 1925-1958 FHL Film: 1002758-1002759

Vital Records 1924-1932. FHL Film: 580758

Vital Records 1897-1918 FHL Film: 1014636-1014637 items 1-10 marriages 1888-1936 FHL Film: 1014637 Items 13-14 and Film: 1014638

Vital Records 1946-1948. FHL Film: 1014637 Item 11

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 147-148.
  2. Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981, pp. 175.
  3. Guide to Federal Records, Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Record Group 75. Available online.
  4. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1070, p. 48.
  5. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M595, p. 51.
  6. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M1011, p. 27.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Marquette University. Guide to Catholic-Related Records in the Midwest about Native Americans.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online
  • "Accompanying Pamphlet for Microcopy 1011", National Archives Microfilm Publications, Appendix.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 June 2011, at 17:55.
  • This page has been accessed 3,471 times.