Pinellas County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Pinellas County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Pinellas County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Pinellas County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Pinellas County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded May 23, 1911
County Seat Clearwater
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
County Coordinator
Pinellas County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Pinellas County Courthouse;
315 Ct St;
Clearwater, FL 34616-5165;
Phone: 727.464.3377 


Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorece, probate, court and land records from 1912. [1]

History

Parent County

1911--Pinellas County was created 23 May 1911 from Hillsborough County.
County seat: Clearwater [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Pinellas County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • St. Petersburg

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Pinellas County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flpinellas.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Pinellas County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Pinellas County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Pinellas County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Societies and Libraries

PINELLAS GENEALOGY SOCIETY AND GENEALOGY CENTER OF THE LARGO PUBLIC LIBRARY  

The Pinellas Genealogy Society is allied with the Largo Public Library for the promotion of genealogical research and providing free genealogy education. The combined resources of the Library and the Society make the resulting Genealogy Center the most extensive in Pinellas County, Florida, and one of the top in the state.

  Nearly all of the educational events conducted by the Society at the Largo Public Library are free and open to the public. This includes the more than 10 clases presented each month, workshops, and monthly meetings.

  The society has a website with links to several databases relevant to Pinellas County genealogy (cemetery indexes, city directories, funeral homes, and more), as well as a calendar of classes and special events. The site can be accessed at Pinellas Genealogy Society.

  The PGS also  has a Blog providing commentary, links to articles and websites, and society news (http://flpgs.blogspot.com/). The society can also be followed on Facebook.

  The Largo Public Library Genealogy Center can be found at Largo Public Library - Genealogy Center

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pinellas County, Florida Page 136 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:51.
  • This page has been accessed 5,382 times.