Pipe Ridware, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Pipe Ridware, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pipe Ridware, Staffordshire
Former Ridware St James Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Offlow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Lichfield PLU
Registration District Lichfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1659
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rugeley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Alrewas and Weeford
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Pipe Ridware St James was formed from a former chapelry of Alrewas, Staffordshire into a parish from 1726.

RIDWARE, PIPE (St. James), a parish, in the union of Lichfield, N. division of the hundred of Offlow and of the county of Stafford, 4¾ miles (E.) from Rugeley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Staffordshire BMD have indexes for births marriages and deaths. Due to March 2011 reorganisation of the registration service for South Staffordshire districts the historical registration indexes for this district have been located at the Newcastle under Lyme registration district (formerly held at Lichfield) and applications for certificates need to be directed there. Please refer to the "Updates" page of  Staffordshire BMD for further information.

Church records

Pipe Ridware parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
PIPE RIDWARE PARISH (1561) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1572-1900
1571-1894

FMP 1572-1901 1572-1901

FS 1571-1869
1565-1835

PALL
1790-1812

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap1562-1982 Mar 1561-1982 (part Bishop's transcripts) Bur 1561-1998
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1659-1865 Mar1659-1835 Bur 1659-1865 Missing Bap/Bur 1837-1848, 1850-1852, 1857

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474613.

Poor Law Unions

Lichfield Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 665-668. Date accessed: 05 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (N-Z), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2014, at 22:51.
  • This page has been accessed 640 times.