Pitcairn IslandsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Pacific Island Guide  Gotoarrow.png Pitcairn Islands

Guide to Pitcairn Islands ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.


News and Events


Topics
Other Heading
  • (bullet)


Flag of pitcairn.png

The Pitcairn Islands (Pitkern: Pitkern Ailen), officially named the Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, are a group of four volcanic islands in the southern Pacific Ocean. The islands are a British overseas territory, the last remaining in the Pacific. Only Pitcairn Island the second largest in the group, is inhabited.

Upon arrival at Pitcairn Island in January 1790, the crew of the ship Bounty discovered the island had previously been inhabited. Many relics of a Polynesian civilization were found scattered around the island. Roughly hewn stone gods, which guarded sacred sites, representations of animals and men carved into cliff faces, burial sites yielding human skeletons, and earth ovens, stone adzes, gouges, and other artefacts of Polynesian workmanship were discovered.

Contents

Research Tools

(Add text and/or an image here)


Useful Websites

Pitcairn Islands 3.jpg


(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here)

(Additional Heading)

(Your text or images here, or use the table below:)

  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)
  • (Your Bullet)

Things you can do

(In order to make this wiki a better research tool, we need your help! Many tasks need to be done. You can help by:



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 December 2014, at 18:57.
  • This page has been accessed 2,245 times.