Pitcombe, Somerset GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Pitcombe, Somerset)

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Pitcombe, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pitcombe, Somerset
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bruton
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Wincanton
Registration District Wincanton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cary
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Wells
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office


Parish History

PITCOMB (St. Leonard), a parish, in the union of Wincanton, hundred of Bruton, E. division of Somerset, 1¼ mile (S. W.) from Bruton, containing the tything of Hadspen, the hamlet of Cole, and part of Discove.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Pitcombe, Somerset Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[6]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1538-1882
FS 1538-1836
1567-1682, 1719-1837



SOPC 1538-1882

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474594.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Tax records

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 573-576. Date accessed and adapted: 03 April 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Somerset, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 21 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  6. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.
  7. E 179 Database, The National Archives, http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/e179/, accessed 8 August 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 April 2015, at 21:30.
  • This page has been accessed 2,146 times.