Placer County, CaliforniaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States go toCaliforniago to Placer County

Guide to Placer County, California ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg California
Online Records


Placer County, California
Map
Map of California highlighting Placer County
Location in the state of California
Map of the U.S. highlighting California
Location of California in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 15, 1851
County Seat auburn
Courthouse
Address Placer County Courthouse
 2954 Richardson Drive
Auburn, CA 95603
Phone: 530.886.5600 
Placer County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Placer County Courthouse
 2954 Richardson Drive
Auburn, CA 95603
Phone: 530.886.5600 

County Clerk Recorder has birth, marriage and death records from 1873 and land records from 1850
County Clerk has probate records from 1850 and court records from 1851[1]

  

Historical Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Placer County, California

Parent Counties

15 April 1851: Placer County was created from Sutter and Yuba Counties. [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Records Loss

For a list of record loss in California counties see: California Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Populated places in Placer County include:

  • Alta
  • Auburn
  • Colfax
  • Dutch Flat
  • Foresthill
  • Gold Hill
  • Gold Run
  • Iowa Hill
  • Lincoln
  • Newcastle
  • Rocklin
  • Roseville
  • Tahoe City
  • Weimar
  • Yankee Jims

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

The following web sites have entries for people buried in Placer County. None have complete lists:

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Placer, California, look at the list of records for Cemeteries. Films can be sent to family history centers. Public libraries may have copies of the books or can obtain them through Interlibrary Loan.

Individual cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Placer County, California census records online, see: California Census.

Church History and Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.

Churches in Placer County lists churches by denomination and gives name, address, phone number, and links to web site if available.

Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level. Search the Family History Library Catalog Place Search for the appropriate town in Placer County.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Auburn
  • Roseville

Court Records

The Placer County Archives and Research Center has the following records:

Court Case Files 1851-1925

  • Assessment Rolls and Maps 1851-1961
  • Record of Wills 1874-1963
  • Board of Supervisor's Minutes 1852-1980

Naturalization Papers 1852-1939

  • Deed Books 1851-1960
  • Great Register of Voters 1867-1974
  • Department of Education Records 1895-1997
  • Mining Records 1856-1947

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Placer, California, look at the list of records for Naturalization and citizenship and Naturalization and citizenship - Indexes. Films can be sent to family history centers.

Placer County Court Directory gives addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers and links to the courts web sites and online resources..

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local histories are available for Placer County, California. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.

Google Books has some books about the history and people in Placer County, California. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Placer County, California, look at the list of records for History. Films can be sent to family history centers. Public libraries may have copies of the books or can obtain them through Interlibrary Loan.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

County Clerk - Recorder keeps the land records.  Land records are scanned and indexed in a grantor/grantee index. The index is cross-referenced by document type, document number and the names of the parties. The index and images of the original documents are available to the public for research or to have copies made.

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Placer County, California, look at the list of records for Land and property. Films can be sent to family history centers.

Maps

For historical maps,search the following free sites: • Maps of California (1850-1925)

Maps-Historical-Sate of California, the Carlifornia government's site.  Links to American Memory (Library of Congress), California Missions, and the State Library

Historical Maps of California

California Maps - HSU Library, also lists and links to gazetteers

David Rumsey Collection for Placer, California

Perry-Castaneda Map Collection for California
Caplacer.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Placer County, California for emigrant settlers included:[3][4]

  • Central Pacific Railroad 13 May 1865 reached Auburn, Placer County, California from Sacramento being built toward Utah.

Military History and Records

The California State Military Museum has a great deal of historical information and links to other military web sites.

Civil War

Ancestry.com has Records of California men in the War of the Rebellion, 1861 to 1867

Regiments. Service men in Placer County, California served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Placer County, California:

- 4th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company D
- 4th Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company E
- 7th Regiment, California Infantry (Union) , Company D

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Placer County, California newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - Placer - Probate records.

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Placer County, California, look at the list of records for Probate records. Films can be sent to family history centers.

The Placer County Archives and Research Center has probate records from 1851-1960.

Repositories

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Placer County Pulblic Library

Placer County Library
350 Nevada Street
Auburn, CA 95603
530-886-4550
Email = library@placerlibrary.org

Placer County Online Catalog

Library branches in Placer County giving addresses and phone numbers with dates and hours open

Lake Tahoe Branches of the Placer County Library System

Sparks Law Libraryof Placer County

1523 Lincoln Way, Auburn
(530) 823-2573

11526 C Ave,
Auburn, CA 95603
101 Maple Street
Auburn, CA 95603
530-889-7789 | Fax: 530-889-7708

County Courthouse

Clerk- Recorder Divisions
2954 Richardson Drive
Auburn, CA 95603 Dewitt Larry Oddo Building
Recordings - (530) 886-5600
Clerk - (530) 886-5610
Fax: (530) 886-5687
E-mail: clerk@placer.ca.gov
Placer County Free Public Records

Family History Centers


Societies

Taxation

California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records

In the FamilySearch Catalog Place Search on FamilySearch, for Placer County, California, look at the list of records for Vital records. Films can be sent to family history centers.

The Placer County Clerk-Recorder's Office has birth, death and marriage records for Placer County. This office has birth and death records, 1873 to the present and marriage records 1852 to the present.

Placer County California Vital Records
Placer County Clerk-Recorder
2954 Richardson Drive
Auburn, CA 95603
Phone: (530) 886-5600
Fax: (530) 886-5687
Guidelines For Ordering Vital Records

Birth

At Ancestry is the California Birth Index, 1905-1995 ($)

Marriage

For marriages from 1850-1870 see Western States Marriage Index.

Divorce

Death

At RootsWeb is an index to California Death Records 1940-1997 (free)

Voting Registers

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Placer County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 18:37.
  • This page has been accessed 12,388 times.