Plano Texas Family History CenterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

FamilySearch This article describes the services and resources available at a Family History Center, a branch facility of the Family History Library.

The Plano Family History Center is a non-circulating branch of the FamilySearch Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. It is sponsored by the Plano Stake of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and serves members and non-members of the Church alike.

The facilities and access to its holdings are free of charge. There are nominal fees for printing, copying and other consumable materials.  Microfilm and microfiche are viewed at the FHC, but all orders must be prepaid and placed online at: http://www.familysearch.org/film

The volunteers, who staff the Family History Center, do not do family history research for patrons, but are available for personalized assistance, if desired. The staff can also provide instructions in the use of the computer systems and assist patrons in finding and using materials in the FamilySearch Center.

Texasplanofhc.jpg

Contents

Center Contacts and Hours

Location & Map:

Phone: (972) 867-6479

E-mail: planofhc@gmail.com

Open Hours:

  • Tuesday:    9:15 am - 9:00 pm
  • Wednesday: 9:15 am - 1:00 pm
  • Thursday     9:15 am - 9:00 pm
  • Holiday Schedule:

Calendar and Events

Upcoming Events:

Great Family Search Conference, November 2, 2013, 9:00 am - 4:00 pm.  See http://www.greatfamilysearch.com for more information.

Class Schedule

Consultant Training Meetings: 4th Thursday of January - May, August & September.


Center Resources

Collections

  • FamilySearch Catalog: This center has the ability to order any of the films and fiche available through the FamilySearch Catalog.
  • Books in excess of 500 are available for use covering genealogical instructional and research aids, county histories and records; church records; family histories; foreign language dictionaries and other research aids are included in the collection at the FHC.
  • Microfilm - Patrons may select from more than 850 rolls of microfilm covering original and collected records which make up the permanent collection of microfilms in the Center or order films from the 2.4 million rolls in the FamilySearch Library collection in Salt Lake City, Utah. Films may be viewed on one of the microfilm readers in the Center.
  • Microfiche -
    Patrons may select from our current collection of more than 3600 sets of microfiche or order from the collection of more than 1,000,000 fiche in the FamilySearch Library collection for viewing in the Family History Center on the fiche reader.


Databases and Software

  • FHC Portal:This center has access to the Family History Center Portal page which gives free access in the center to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. The websites are:  19th Century British Library Newspaper Archive; Ancestry.com; Find My Past; The Genealogist; Genline (Swedish Parish Registers); Godfrey Memorial Library; Historic Map Works; World Vital Records; Family Link; Heritage Quest Online
  • Military Index - Includes US military personnel who died in combat in Korea or Vietnam between 1850 and 1975
  • Scottish Church Records - An event oriented index of approximately 10 million births or christenings and marriages (1580s-1850s) recorded in all extant Church of Scotland (Presbyterian Church) parish registers
  • Other Computer Programs:
  • Also available is an extensive collection of more than 200 commercially available genealogically related compact disks. A list of the CDs, by location, is available in the FHC.
  • Pedigree Resource File CDs are available to see and print in family group sheets & pedigree charts from links found online at familysearch.org.
  • Vital Records Indexes of birth or christenings and marriages for North America, Great Britain, Western Europe, Mexico, Scandinavia and Australia.
  • Census on CDs are available for 1851 for Devon, Norfolk & Warwick, England, 1880 for the United States and 1881 for England, Scotland, Wales and Canada.
  • Other CDs include: census indexes, marriage indexes, church records, genealogies, immigration indexes and more.

Hardware and Equipment

  • 7 Computers with internet connection.
  • 4 Microfilm readers
  • 1 Microfiche reader
  • 1 Microfilm/fiche reader/copier to paper
  • 1 Microfilm/fiche digital reader/copier to flash drive, CD or paper

Center Services

Staff Research Specialties

(Include sections for any other services your center provides. Add additional sections for those services. See the Mesa and Logan FHC pages for examples.)


Resources in the Local Area

(This section is to highlight other resources in your area that will be helpful for individuals doing research there in your location, if there are any, such as government offices, historical societies, etc.)


Links

Genealogically helpful web sites

Collin County, Texas Courthouse - Internet Explorer 5.5 or later

Plano Public Library - Research Databases

Collin County Genealogical Society

Genealogy Friends of the Plano Library



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:08.
  • This page has been accessed 2,613 times.