Platte County, MissouriEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Platte County

Guide to Platte County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Missouri
Online Records


Platte County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 31, 1838
County Seat Platte City
Courthouse
Address Platte County Courthouse
415 3rd Street
PO Box 30CH
Platte City, MO 64079
Phone: 816.858.2232
Platte County Website

Contents

County Courthouse



County Clerk has birth records 1883-1887
and death records 1883-1888; Recorder Deeds
has marriage and land records; Clerk Circuit
Court has divorce records; Probate  Judge
has probate and court records[1]

History

Parent County

1838--Platte County was created 31 December 1838 from the Platte purchase. County seat: Platte City [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Missouri counties see: Missouri Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

  • Camden Point
  • Dearborn
  • Edgerton
  • Farley
  • Ferrelview
  • Houston Lake
  • Iatan
  • Lake Waukomis
  • Northmoor
  • Parkeville
  • Platte City
  • Platte Woods
  • Ridgely
  • Riverside
  • Tracy
  • Weatherby Lake
  • Weston

Neighboring Counties

Atchison County, Kansas  • Buchanan  • Clay  • Clinton  • Leavenworth County, Kansas  • Wyandotte County, Kansas

Platte CountyClay CountyJackson CountyRay CountyCaldwell CountyClinton CountyDeKalb CountyAtchison CountyBrown CountyJefferson CountyDoniphan CountyBuchanan CountyDouglas CountyWyandotte CountyJohnson CountyLeavenworth CountyShawnee CountyMOPlatte1 (1).JPG


Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Platte County, Missouri census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Deister Settlement

  • 1847-1853 - Deister Settlement Catholic Church Baptism Index 1847-1853. Batch C515021 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Holy Trinity Teeleum Landeing, Weston

  • 1847-1876 - Holy Trinity Teeleum Landeing, Weston, Baptism Index 1847-1876. Batch C515031 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1848-1885 - Holy Trinity Teeleum Landeing, Weston, Baptism Index 1848-1885. Batch M515031 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

City Directories

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Platte County, Missouri. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Clay and Platte Counties, Missouri : written and compiled from the most authentic official and private sources, including a history of their townships, towns and villages, together with a condensed history of Missouri; a reliable and detailed history of Clay and Platte Counties - their pioneer record, resources, biographical sketches of prominent citizens; general and local statistics of great value, incidents and reminiscences. St. Louis, [Missouri} : National Historical Co., 1885.
  • Landmark (Platte City, Mo.).Platte County : a special edition of the Weston Chronicle, Weston, Mo., and the Landmark, Platte City Mo., issued in connection with national cornhusking contest, held in Platte County, November 15, 1929. Platte City, Mo. : Landmark, [1929].

Maps

Moplatte.jpg


Migration

Early migration routes to and from Platte County, Missouri for European settlers included:

Military

Civil War
- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
:- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
:- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union)Edit , Company C
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
:- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Platte County, Missouri newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
  • 1850-1877 - Platte County Birth Index 1850-1877. Batch C515611 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

Northland Genelogical Society

Mid-Continent Public Libraries in Platte City, Weston, and several locations in Southern Platte County.

Family History Centers

Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Platte County, Missouri
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Platte County, Missouri
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Platte County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Platte County, Missouri
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Platte County, MO Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Platte County Message Board

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Platte County, Missouri. Page 404 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
  4. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  5. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 19:12.
  • This page has been accessed 7,651 times.