Platte County, WyomingEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Wyoming
Platte County
Guide to Platte County Wyoming genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Platte County, Wyoming | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Wyoming in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 9, 1911 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Wheatland |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Platte County Courthouse 806 9th Street Wheatland, WY 82201 Phone: 307.322.3555 Platte County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 9 February 1911 from Laramie
- County seat: Wheatland [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Albany | Converse | Goshen | Laramie | Niobrara
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Platte County, Wyoming census records online, see: Wyoming Census.
Church Records
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Platte County, Wyoming for European and African American settlers included:
- Platte River
- Oregon Trail 1830s to 1890s from western Missouri to Oregon City, Oregon[2]
- California Trail 1846 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[3]
- Mormon Trail 1846 to 1869 from Nauvoo, Illinois to Salt Lake City, Utah[4]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1890;
Clerk District Court has divorce, probate and court records[5]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Bordeaux | Curtis | Guernsey | Slater | Westview Circle |
| Brinton | Diamond | Hartville | Sunrise | Wheatland |
| Cassa | Dwyer | Natwick | Uva | Y-O Ranch |
| Chugwater | Glendo | Sibylee | Wendover |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map III" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap3.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 767. Platte County, Wyoming
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 28 April 2013, at 05:22.
- This page has been accessed 1,338 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
