Pleasants County, West VirginiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png West VirginiaGotoarrow.png Pleasants County

Guide to Pleasants County, West Virginia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/West Virginia_Online_Genealogy_Records West Virginia
Online Records


Pleasants County, West Virginia
Map
Map of West Virginia highlighting Pleasants County
Location in the state of West Virginia
Map of the U.S. highlighting West Virginia
Location of West Virginia in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 29, 1851
County Seat Saint Mary's
Courthouse
Pleasants County, West Virginia Courthouse.JPG
Address Pleasants County Courthouse
01 Court Lane #101
Saint Mary's, WV 26170
Phone: 304-684-3542
Pleasants County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

County Clerk has birth, marriage, death, and probate from 1853 Land records from 1851 Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and court records <ref name="HBG">Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pleasants County, West Virginia. Page 745 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.</ref>

History

Parent County

1851--Pleasants County was created 29 March 1851 from Wood, Tyler and Ritchie Counties.  County seat: St. Marys [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Record Loss

For a list of record loss in West Virginia counties see: West Virginia Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Wvpleasants.jpg

Research Guides

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Pleasants County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1976):209-210. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).

Cemeteries

The Pleasants County website of West Virginia GenWeb offers a listing of county cemeteries, with beautiful photographs of the cemeteries, and transcriptions of the burials found therein.

Census

For tips on accessing Pleasants County, West Virginia census records online, see: West Virginia Census.

Join us in indexing the 1940 Census

Court

Land

Local Histories

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Pleasants County, West Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Pleasants County, West Virginia:

- 20th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G.[2]
- 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A.[3]

Records and histories are available, including:

Naturalization

West Virginia, Naturalization Records, 1814-1991

Probate

West Virginia Will Books

Taxation

Online West Virginia Tax site

West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.

Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.

The search for tax information can start here

Vital Records

Pleasants County WV Gen Web: The Pleasants County West Virginia website for US GenWeb is host to may excellent transcriptions of county records, including of Pleasants Co Birth Records from 1853-1891 from the LDS Family History Film #0163911, with only a couple of years missing

There are also marriage records available, from 1853 to 1931, transcribed from both LDS film #0163911 and from courthouse record.

Complying with the law enacted in 1853, Pleasants County deaths were recorded and transcriptions are available at this site also.

The West Virginia State Archivesalso has a searchable database of the actual death certificate images available for deaths occuring during the years 1917-1919, and 1921-1957 for Pleasants County.

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of West Virginia Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

 

Web Sites

http://www.cyndislist.com/us/wv


 Learning How to Edit our Wiki Sites

Hands on keyboard.png Genealogy courses: Learn how to research from an expert in Fun Five Minute Genealogy Videos.


References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  3. Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 November 2014, at 22:49.
  • This page has been accessed 8,674 times.