Plumstead St Nicholas, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Plumstead St Nicholas, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plumstead St Nicholas, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lessness
County Kent
Poor Law Union Lewisham PLU
Registration District Lewisham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1744
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Dover
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Plumstead is a district of the London Borough of Greenwich Plumstead Wikipedia

Historically Plumstead included parts of Shooters Hill Shooter's Hill Wikipedia and Abbey Wood Abbey Wood Wikipedia

Plumstead St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish which included the chapelry of East Wickham, Kent

Refer to Plumstead North West Kent Family History Society

to locate parishes in the Plumstead area and to view parish boundary map Plumstead St Nicholas

The church of St Nicholas St Nicholas Road Woolwich has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

From this ancient parish were formed 6 other churches and chapels see Plumstead North West Kent Family History Society

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Plumstead St Nicholas, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[1][2][3][4]
BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
Plumstead St Nicholas, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1654-1752 1654-1752 1654-1754 1654-1754 1654-1782 1654-1782
AC 1753-1894 1753-1894 1755-1898 1755-1898 1783-1945 (gaps) 1783-1945 (gaps)
BIVRI 1744-1819
1744-1812

FREG 1802-1861


IGI 1813-1853

Records for Plumstead are found at

Greenwich Heritage Centre
Artillery Square,
Royal Arsenal,
Woolwich,
SE18 6ST
020 8854 2452
Email: heritage.centre@greenwich.gov.uk

Medway Archives Office
Civic Centre
Strood
Rochester
Kent ME2 4AU
Telephone: 01634 332714
Fax: 01634 297060
Email: malsc@medway.gov.uk

London Metropolitan Archives
40 Northampton Road
London
EC1R 0HB
Tel: 020 7332 3820
Fax: 020 7833 9136
Email: ask.lma@cityoflondon.gov.uk

Bishop's transcripts of Plumstead, 1744-1853

Plumstead St Margaret parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Plumstead St Margaret Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1744-1853 1744-1853 1744-1853

Land Tax

Images for Plumstead are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Plumstead 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Gotoarrow.png See Lewisham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

PLUMSTEAD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Lewisham, hundred of Lessness, lathe of Suttonat-Hone, W. division of Kent, 10 miles (S. by E.) from London. [9]


Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as St Nicholas, Plumstead in Greenwich Borough.
  2. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Plumstead St Nicholas in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  3. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Plumstead St Nicholas in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Described as Plumstead St Nicholas in Greenwich Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  9. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 19:36.
  • This page has been accessed 3,236 times.