Plymouth, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Plymouth St Andrew, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plymouth, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plymouth Borough; Roborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plymouth Incorporation PLU
Registration District Plymouth; Plympton St Mary
Records begin
Parish registers: 1581
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PLYMOUTH, a sea-port, borough, and market-town, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Rororough, Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 44 miles (S. W.) from Exeter, and 215 (W. S. W.) from London containing the parishes of St. Andrew and Charles the Martyr. Trinity church, in the early English style, of which the foundation stone was laid in May, 1840, was completed in August 1842 from St. Andrew's. A church district named Sutton-on-Plym was formed out of Charles parish, in 1844, and endowed by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners. Christ Church, in St. Andrew's parish, was built in 1845, and is in the later English style. Church districts named respectively St. James' and St. Peter's, were formed in 1847 by the Ecclesiastical Commission, the former out of St. Andrew's parish, and the latter out of the parishes of St. Andrew and East Stonehouse. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents,Wesleyan Methodists, Presbyterians, and Unitarians; and a synagogue. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Plymouth parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FAMR = Family Relatives - (£)[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
PLYMOUTH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1581-1674

FMP
Undefined

FAMR
1581-1654

IGI 1581-1633 1581-1744
PRTS
1653-1812

TGEN
1581-1674

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241332.

Genealogy from Periodicals

Haddon, Gordon.  The Two Bligh Admirals. A rough outline of the Bligh Family Tree, indicates the respective lineages close or distant, starting with Richard Bligh in 1742. Drawing of William Bligh.  Mr Haddon was trying to prove the connection between Admiral Sir Richard Bligh, and his son, Captain George Bligh, and Lieutenant William Bligh of the Mutiny of the Bounty saga of 1789. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. 17, part. 4, Feb 1991, pages 252-253, FHL Ref. 942.27 B2h

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  4. 'Devon Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Derived from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 13 February 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 1,342 times.