Plymouth Charles, Devon GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Plymouth Charles, Devon)

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Plymouth Charles, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Plymouth Charles, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Plymouth Borough; Roborough
County Devon
Poor Law Union Plymouth Incorporation PLU
Registration District Plymouth; Plympton St Mary
Records begin
Parish registers: 1644
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Plympton
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

PLYMOUTH CHARLES is part of PLYMOUTH

PLYMOUTH, is a sea-port, borough, and market-town, having a separate jurisdiction, locally in the hundred of Rororough, Roborough and S. divisions of Devon, 44 miles (S. W.) from Exeter; it contains, the out-parts of the parishes of St. Andrew and Charles' the Martyr. The town is included within the parishes of St. Andrew and Charles. There are places of worship in the town for Baptist's, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists, Presbytherians, and Unitarians; and a synagogue.[1]

The Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales provides a slightly different entry for Charles.

Plymouth is one parish that comprehended all the town till 1640; and it was then divided into two, called St. Andrew and Charles-the-Martyr. It is ecclesiastically cut into the divisions of St. Andrew, Christchurch, Holy Trinity, St. James, and St. Peter. Charles-the-Martyr parish comprises a section of the borough. There are also, within the borough, two chapelries, called St. Andrew's and Charles, without any defined limits. Charles' chapel stands in Tavistock-place, was erected in 1828.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Plymouth Charles, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free[4]
Plymouth Charles, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP

Undefined


FSBOOK 1653-1663




Non-Conformist Churches
  • Calvinis
  • Christians
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Plymouth Brethren
  • Presbyterian
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Unitarian
  • Wesleyan Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist Association

The following non-Church of England denominations were located somewhere in Plymouth, but the exact parish has not been identified:

  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Moravian/United Brethren

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241319.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Plymouth Charles on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 578-586. Adapted, Date accessed and adapted: 30 October 2013.
  2. Wilson's, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted, date accessed: 30 October 2013.
  3. 'Devon Parish Marriages,' findmypast, accessed 8 January 2014.
  4. J. Whitmarsh, 'Charles Church, Plymouth,' in Miscellanea Genealogica et Heraldica, New Series, Vol. 4 (1884):167-168, 175-176. Digitised by FamilySearch Books - free.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 15:57.
  • This page has been accessed 2,276 times.